About Buchanan Clark and Wells

Buchanan Clark and Wells, or BCW group as they’re known, are a Glasgow based debt Collection Company. If you’ve received debt collection letters from them, then you may have a problem. Do not assume that because they demand money from you that you definitely owe them anything. If you’re at all unsure then the best thing to do is to ask them for a full statement of account. There is always a good chance that they can’t prove that you owe them anything, and even if they can, it may be from over 6 years ago. If that’s the case you don’t owe them anything as the debt will likely by statute barred.

They are, as far as debt collectors go, a reputable company. However, you need to be very careful in your dealings with them as all debt collectors like Buchanan Clark and Wells will try everything possible to get you to pay them. It could be that your debt is statute barred if it’s older than 6 years old, they might not be able to prove you owe them, or as is often the case they’re chasing completely the wrong person! All debt collectors will do anything they can do get you to pay them and these guys are no different to the others. They’re definitely not the worst, and they’re definitely not the best either. That’s why it’s so important for people to post their experiences here on this site.

If you are having trouble with your debts there are options available to you. Here at Net Consumers we’re written two very detailed guides regarding debt management and individual voluntary arrangements (IVA’s). Take a good read, as its good honest impartial information regarding these debt solutions and the information will probably help you make a decision on your options for BCW Group. Any formal debt solution will help if you do owe them, although if you’re close to a debt being statute barred then you have ‘other’ options too!

In the meantime if you’ve suffered any ‘bully boy tactics’ or you’ve indeed been very well dealt with by Buchanan Clark and Wells, then please let us know below. It’s important that people share their views as a lot of people look for information about these companies each month. So please, do leave a comment and share your experiences. It will probably help others and we really appreciate you leaving a review about BCW Group.

Buchanan Clark and Wells Info

www.bcwgroup.com
 0141 562 2623
 BCW, 24 george square, glasgow, G2 1EG
Buchanan Clark and Wells are a debt collection company.

 

Why not let us know how you feel about Buchanan Clark and Wells, good or bad?

Let us know, you’ll feel better for it!

Click HERE to Write a Review


Submit your review
* Required Field

My elderly father, who is suffering from cancer received an N Power, bill from them, for an amount that he did not owe, the letter was heavy handed th

Oct 20, 2014 by White

My elderly father, who is suffering from cancer received an N Power, bill from them, for an amount that he did not owe, the letter was heavy handed threatening an caused my father emotional distress, I feel this was harrassment, which is unlawful, is there any thing I can do ?


I have had a letter a month and daily texts from them demanding £600 from me. I have been in dispute with orange now for over a year. I owe nothing,

Oct 19, 2014 by jacqui

I have had a letter a month and daily texts from them demanding £600 from me. I have been in dispute with orange now for over a year. I owe nothing, orange never reply to any letters. I explained all this to bcw. They dont care just want the money. They threaten me with house visit. I live alone and this makes me very scared. But I will not give in.


NPower were sending me bills for gas in my old home to my new address. I kept calling them saying I didn't live there any more and they said it was mo

Oct 18, 2014 by Katy

NPower were sending me bills for gas in my old home to my new address. I kept calling them saying I didn't live there any more and they said it was money I owed when I lived there which it wasn't because I always paid monthly by direct debit. Eventually they sent me a letter saying they were writing the debt off as they could prove I owed them the money. Now BCW are constantly sending me letters threatening to take me to court for the debt etc. which I am now ignoring because I am so fed up with them. Should I contact them again and how do I get them to stop


Hi, I've had BCW group chasing me for a debt that is with EDF, and at my previous address, I wouldn't mind but I was with British gas for both gas an

Oct 17, 2014 by daniel

Hi, I've had BCW group chasing me for a debt that is with EDF, and at my previous address, I wouldn't mind but I was with British gas for both gas and electric, it's been six months now with letters emails and calls both ways, the latest is they haven't received my email with my council tax bill attached that will clear this debt off my name as it is the landlords debt, who then put the debt in my new when I left the property I 2012, I've refused to pay anything and will take them to court if necessary to deal with this problem, have been advised to print all emails, phone bills itemised, and letters together so I can make a claim against them in the process of clearing this debt and problem, costly I know but all costs can be claimed off the other side if your granted it by the judge. But it's risky lol


finally got a letter stating that i am going to receive a home visit, lol bring it on!, i can arrange a time for them to visit, and ive already contac

Oct 17, 2014 by sandy

finally got a letter stating that i am going to receive a home visit, lol bring it on!, i can arrange a time for them to visit, and ive already contacted the police about this issue and i can have them charged for harassment all for debt for over £33 which was paid in full some time ago and have proof to support that, in a response from emma, i never live on credit and always pay my bills on time and your comment is very sweeping and unjustified!


I called on behalf of my partner, who had a mark on her credit report with BCW, I had to pay off another one that her ex partner got in her name first

Oct 13, 2014 by Daniel

I called on behalf of my partner, who had a mark on her credit report with BCW, I had to pay off another one that her ex partner got in her name first before paying off this one, but they weren't aggressive and made sure that I'm getting the letter of settlement sen through.

I already knew would have to spend a load to pay it off, but they were helpful and nice enough about it all.

All in all a good experience I guess.


This company is only receiving bad reviews because they are collecting money off people who cannot manage their debts. If you cannot afford it, then d

Oct 11, 2014 by Emma

This company is only receiving bad reviews because they are collecting money off people who cannot manage their debts. If you cannot afford it, then don't buy it! Simple as that! Don't give companies bad reviews because you’re unable to manage your finances!


BCW are bullies and pester for money that you may owe but you do not owe them they do have another number they may ring you on its 01752 685394 thi

Oct 09, 2014 by *****

BCW are bullies and pester for money that you may owe but you do not owe them they do have another number they may ring you on its 01752 685394 this is just one of the numbers bcw use


I am giving no stars to these evil vultures! I have had a very threatening letter regarding an outstanding scottish power bill from my previous addres

Oct 09, 2014 by M

I am giving no stars to these evil vultures! I have had a very threatening letter regarding an outstanding scottish power bill from my previous address. I called a week ago to set up a payment plan and explained i am a single parent with two children and only work part time so could only afford to pay back £50 a month which would clear my debt in 10 months as it is £500 but they would have to wait 6 weeks until my next pay date to start the direct debit! The arrogant guy on the other end of the phone laughed and spoke to me with a terrible attitude and demanded i give him my income and outgoings i refused as this is my personal business he then said the wanted £187 now other wise i would have something on my credit score that will stay there for 6 years so i told it that was fine as long as he didn\'t expect me to pay this bill because they have already ruined my credit score now so i may as well leave the debt as it is!! They use bully boy tactics and are very cruel and unfair! They have no compassion for people who are going through hard times !!!


An on going problem. Orange claim a debt of over £100 but after 3 months have not substantiated this. BCW claim to follow the Credit Services Asso

Oct 08, 2014 by David

An on going problem. Orange claim a debt of over £100 but after 3 months have not substantiated this. BCW claim to follow the Credit Services Association Guidelines. They don't. It took more than a month before they confirmed that they were investigating my complaint. Exactly 4 weeks later they informed me that the case was on hold. This delay alone is causing distress. They have not contacted Orange to verify the details. Neither have Orange informed me of the outcome of their internal inquiry. The debt is owed on a closed account. Their rules will not allow transfer of a number if their are debts owed on the account. But they did transfer the number to an EE account. So where is the debt?


This morning I recieved an email from BCW stating that it was an urgent message and that they had been attempting to contact me as soon as possible an

Oct 07, 2014 by Leanne

This morning I recieved an email from BCW stating that it was an urgent message and that they had been attempting to contact me as soon as possible and that I should ring 0844 571 4044 or reply to their email with my number so they could arrange for someone to contact me urgently.
The first niggles of doubt I had was how shoddy their email sounded it went from being formal to informal and reminded me of something a friend would send when they couldn’t get hold of you. My other niggle of doubt was that I had never heard of BCW nor had I had any dealings with them.
After googling them I found out they were a debt collections agency, yet nobody I’d spoken to has heard of them and any debts I do have are and have been for the last year been dealt with by the same company and they haven’t passed on my debts to BCW.
On further research I discovered more complaints about them.. even former employees who have been disgusted with their tactics and scams. They have no website and their number keeps changing. I’ve put them on my block list so that they can no longer email me so I advise others to do the same if they receive an email.


Ive spoken to the company whom sent bcw my details and they are doing and investigation into the alleged debt so they have put the account on hold and

Oct 07, 2014 by Anna

Ive spoken to the company whom sent bcw my details and they are doing and investigation into the alleged debt so they have put the account on hold and told me it wont be getting taken any further. Then sc**w me two days later i have a letter from bcw threatening me with court and home visits. Now I am only 20 years old and i suffer with severe mental health issues and this is making me a lot worse to the point the doctors have had to up my medication because of bcw


Sent me a letter stating they have checked credit reference agencies to confirm my address and me to contact them. Their letter is now at the bottom o

Oct 06, 2014 by Johno

Sent me a letter stating they have checked credit reference agencies to confirm my address and me to contact them. Their letter is now at the bottom of the guinea pig cage. Matter closed


I am paying back what is owed and they send me letters in the post threatening to send people round to my house, I have had no telephone contact with

Oct 06, 2014 by Anonymous

I am paying back what is owed and they send me letters in the post threatening to send people round to my house, I have had no telephone contact with these people, at the end of the day they are just a bunch of vultures


Contact the police if harassment by bcw continues as well send email to managing director bryan moaut at bryan.moaut@bcwgroup.com but also complain to

Oct 05, 2014 by anon

Contact the police if harassment by bcw continues as well send email to managing director bryan moaut at bryan.moaut@bcwgroup.com but also complain to ceo of financial conduct service at martin.wheatley@fca.org.uk


They have taken money from my bank account I have never heard of them before I have received no letters or phone calls. I am very angry with this.. it

Oct 04, 2014 by chantell

They have taken money from my bank account I have never heard of them before I have received no letters or phone calls. I am very angry with this.. its got to be a scam. Would I be able to get the money back that they have taken without my consent to take it when I owe them nothing.?


this group keep phoning my mobile i dont know how they got my no. But never heard of them before now,so i dont owe them any thing get feeling it could

Oct 03, 2014 by tina

this group keep phoning my mobile i dont know how they got my no. But never heard of them before now,so i dont owe them any thing get feeling it could be a scam.


Received a text message this morning from "BCW Group" - no phone call: just the text message, They asked "Emma Cantle" to phone them urgently on 08451

Oct 03, 2014 by Vera

Received a text message this morning from "BCW Group" - no phone call: just the text message, They asked "Emma Cantle" to phone them urgently on 08451110344, quoting a "unique reference number" . I haven't a clue who "Emma Cantle" is! My own name isn't even remotely similar, and neither are the names of my family & friends. My mobile is a PAYG - I've only recently got it, so I don't know how BCW have got hold of my number. I've discovered that BCW are debt collectors - but as far as I'm aware, I don't owe money to anyone. Presumably BCW Group are just 'phishing'? (I'm a pensioner - and unfortunately my age group attracts a lot of scammers).


BCW have sent me three letters so far demanding me to oay £70.00 for an EE phone bill. Funny thing is im not even with EE i returned those sims 3 mon

Oct 02, 2014 by AB

BCW have sent me three letters so far demanding me to oay £70.00 for an EE phone bill. Funny thing is im not even with EE i returned those sims 3 months ago without even using them and i am with O2. The last letter i recieved today demanding me to pay again but since i ignored the other 2 letters they are saying they're going to take legal action against me! Like seriously?! I called EE and they even told me they dont have any records of me on their systems so why are BCW sending me letters and texts?! I am getting so annoyed now! Could someone please tell me what to do cuz i am not paying a penny since i dont owe anyone anything!


They are a persistent bunch of bullies and they are like a terrier, (but not as nice) once they get hold they will not let go. I have not received any

Oct 01, 2014 by Nigel B Davies

They are a persistent bunch of bullies and they are like a terrier, (but not as nice) once they get hold they will not let go. I have not received any bills but have been told I owe EE. I pay my phone bill by DD!
I have just received another text from these people who tell me that if I pay now they will reduce my debt by £23.45?
I have given them 1 star because I can\'t post my comments without giving them something????


I GET TEXTS EVERY MONTH DONT KNOW WHO I AM SUPPOSED TO OWE. I ALSO GET LETTERS TO PREVIOUS OCCUPIERS I HAVE BEEN AT MY PROPERTY 5 YRS TOOK OUT NO LOAN

Sep 30, 2014 by KAZ

I GET TEXTS EVERY MONTH DONT KNOW WHO I AM SUPPOSED TO OWE. I ALSO GET LETTERS TO PREVIOUS OCCUPIERS I HAVE BEEN AT MY PROPERTY 5 YRS TOOK OUT NO LOANS FROM HERE.
NO STARS


I keep getting text messages from BCW saying that they have some Urgent Information for me, and they have my full name in the message including my mid

Sep 29, 2014 by Chainsawgirl1

I keep getting text messages from BCW saying that they have some Urgent Information for me, and they have my full name in the message including my middle name, and that I should visit secure smartphone link or to phone an 0844 number quoting a reference number they have given me. I only have a basic mobile phone for texting and incoming calls. The latest one was received by me 29th September at 12:49:15. They are forever harrassing me. It used to be by letter and now this. I am getting very annoyed with them.


I received a phone call of these today saying they were solicitors acting on behalf of e-on I do not have an e-on account and left e-on debt free 3 ye

Sep 26, 2014 by amanda

I received a phone call of these today saying they were solicitors acting on behalf of e-on I do not have an e-on account and left e-on debt free 3 years ago, I asked for the telephone number they were calling from and name and stated once I had spoken to e-on I would call them or e-on would call them straight back and they refused to give me number and hung up....


This company been harassing me twice a day for months on end now. They're using different phone numbers and I get at least 2 texts a day with differen

Sep 24, 2014 by happy girl

This company been harassing me twice a day for months on end now. They're using different phone numbers and I get at least 2 texts a day with different references. I've made sure that every call goes straight to voicemail but surprise surprise, they never leave a message to explain what it's all about and after reading all the comments I am sure not ever going to acknowledge them!


I have received 2 letters off these for 2 separate debts just wondering what to do as they have said about sending it to court and affecting my credit

Sep 23, 2014 by andy

I have received 2 letters off these for 2 separate debts just wondering what to do as they have said about sending it to court and affecting my credit rating


Got an email from these people today...\"urgent you contact us or give us a number we can call you on\'\" Hah ....chancers ! after reading some of

Sep 22, 2014 by Steve

Got an email from these people today...\"urgent you contact us or give us a number we can call you on\'\" Hah ....chancers !
after reading some of these comments it\'s clear people don\'t know where they stand with debt collectors...
1. Don\'t reply to emails,call, or answer the phone to these people EVER.
(you are not obliged to) Add them to your blocked list for emails/phone
2. If contact you by mail,threatening \"legal action\" remember:
They are NOT the party you may/may not owe any money to- they are simply 3rd party interlopers in your affairs...you have the perfect right to tell them to BUTT OUT of your private business..


I have recently received two formal demands from BCW on behalf of their client EE Ltd. I have never had any dealings or contractual agreements with EE

Sep 22, 2014 by Anthony Morgan

I have recently received two formal demands from BCW on behalf of their client EE Ltd. I have never had any dealings or contractual agreements with EE Ltd, though I did have and Orange mobile many years ago. The demands are for two differing Principal sums, and one extraordinary maths compilation of a principal sum of £128, admin costs of £13.86, making a debt balance of £13.86 !
I have asked for details of the alleged liability but hear nothing. Whilst I\'m choosing to ignore these demands, I have asked \"questionsofcash@independent.co.uk\" to investigate, and Paul Gosling has very kindly offered to help. I will post his results as soon as I have them if it will aid other users of this forum


No stars because they have not provided a service to me or their client. Just a series of threatening letters and e-mails and 'no reply' texts providi

Sep 19, 2014 by Paul Simpson

No stars because they have not provided a service to me or their client. Just a series of threatening letters and e-mails and 'no reply' texts providing ways of paying a disputed amount. Telefonica need to vet their suppliers better - but that would require them to get their own act together. What a shabby pair of companies.


These people are bullies, they are rude and are in desperate need of customer training.Do not be taken in by their lies and when they say they are s

Sep 17, 2014 by Miss S

These people are bullies, they are rude and are in desperate need of customer training.
Do not be taken in by their lies and when they say they are solicitors they are NOT - more like debt collectors.


Today I received a very polite letter from BCW asking me to contact them via phone to discuss a 'private matter'. I haven't called them yet, but decid

Sep 16, 2014 by Thomas

Today I received a very polite letter from BCW asking me to contact them via phone to discuss a 'private matter'. I haven't called them yet, but decided to look them up and reached here. I can see how popular they are.

Since my separation, I have been in financial difficulties and obtained advice and assistance from 'Step Change'. With their help I have got my debt payments reduced to £1.00 per month to all my creditors except my mortgage. I am not yet sure what they are writing to me about and I'm not sure whether I should contact them. It could be about an old electric bill but not sure.

Can anyone advise?


got a phone call and letter from them demanding 210 euro from an old eircom bill was paying eircom lost the bill rang eircom to issue new one but inst

Sep 16, 2014 by finbarr canty

got a phone call and letter from them demanding 210 euro from an old eircom bill was paying eircom lost the bill rang eircom to issue new one but instead i got letter from this crowd spoke to one of them he was quiet abusive over the phone called me names give it to him with both barrels quiet enjoyed it as respect costs nothing which he didnt give me got an bank account no and sort code from them agreed to pay 20 euro until debt is cleared told them if they contact me again that they hear from my lawyer for harassment calls have stopped for the moment dont take any s**t from them i didnt and wont staff training for them is a must and i told them so


This company has been bullying me for almost a year. EDF got a final energy bill wrong and then agreed a new one with my new supplier, however they ne

Sep 13, 2014 by Mr T

This company has been bullying me for almost a year. EDF got a final energy bill wrong and then agreed a new one with my new supplier, however they never sent me the amended bill and instead they decided to get BCW to send me threatening letters for the incorrect bill. I have told them this several times, yet they've started sending threatening emails now. EDF and BCW are obscene people.


Was contacted by phone and given a ref no and asked to call them. I did this and spoke to a young lady and explained that I owe nothing to anybody and

Sep 10, 2014 by John Kemp

Was contacted by phone and given a ref no and asked to call them. I did this and spoke to a young lady and explained that I owe nothing to anybody and I assumed that this was yet another ( I have had many debt agencies call me) African committing a fraud_this is not racist but factual as all the other calls I have had related to African names, She asked me to confirm my address which I did and she confirmed that it was not the address they had on their paperwork and said that my phone no would be removed from their records. Fingers crossed this will be the end of it but I\'m not holding my breath11


I have an outstanding energy bill with EDF which has now been passed to these arrogant, evil rats, Ive never dealt with such a bunch of nasty arrogant

Sep 09, 2014 by Hayley J Green

I have an outstanding energy bill with EDF which has now been passed to these arrogant, evil rats, Ive never dealt with such a bunch of nasty arrogant pigs in all my life (so far) !! They are rude pushy and are not sensitive to your case in any way. Ive offered to make a payment arrangement with them but they will not accept the monthly amount I have offered they clearly say more otherwise they are going to come to my doorstep and badge me this way and keep bombarding me with phone calls until i pay. I don\'t want to pay them I would rather pay EDF themselves but apparently once it has gone to debt collectors there is no going back, I don\'t trust these A******** one bit and refuse to pay them although I do want to clear my outstanding bill as I am a law abiding citizen with rights !! Bring it on BCW you must be the most hated debt agency in the country !!


BCW rang on 4 separate occasions pretending to be npower. They were chasing an old debt left by previous tenants of the office I work in. But each tim

Sep 09, 2014 by B Cheesman

BCW rang on 4 separate occasions pretending to be npower. They were chasing an old debt left by previous tenants of the office I work in. But each time they definitely said npower. It wasn't until I returned their call I heard the words BCW at all.


Why do u keep ringing my phone then hang up .. I am not going ring u as I am not the person u are after . Also why should I be charged to ring you whe

Sep 09, 2014 by p****d off person

Why do u keep ringing my phone then hang up .. I am not going ring u as I am not the person u are after . Also why should I be charged to ring you when it has nothing to do with me. Are u going to give me my money back for my call think not may


Orange contacted me for a non-existent debt. I contacted then and they agreed that they would provide me with proof of the debt. This they have not d

Sep 08, 2014 by David

Orange contacted me for a non-existent debt. I contacted then and they agreed that they would provide me with proof of the debt. This they have not done. They also agreed that they would not forward, as threatened this to a debt collection agency until they had proven the debt was owed. This they did. Now I am getting demands from BCW. Orange after 6 weeks still have not substantiated their demand.


I owed £247.26 for a phone bill which was cancelled after a few days. Buchanan clark and wells are wrong in sending me final demands. I have never b

Sep 08, 2014 by Dean Mitchell

I owed £247.26 for a phone bill which was cancelled after a few days. Buchanan clark and wells are wrong in sending me final demands. I have never been in debt before so stop sending me letters and texts to my phone because I'm not paying a penny


I owe Npower £26 but I haven't had any phone calls or letters so you can imagine my surprise when I check my online credit card statement and see tha

Sep 07, 2014 by tommy irvine

I owe Npower £26 but I haven't had any phone calls or letters so you can imagine my surprise when I check my online credit card statement and see that BCW have taken £1.00 from it. How they managed to get a hold of my details who knows but I know I never gave them my details and I certtainly never gave them authority to take funds from it.Before I phone them on Monday morning i'll be poppin into trading standards so i'll let you all know the outcome.


They were chasing an outstanding gas bill from N Power for a rental property that we own, but the amount didn't tally with the bill we eventually got

Sep 04, 2014 by Paul

They were chasing an outstanding gas bill from N Power for a rental property that we own, but the amount didn't tally with the bill we eventually got through the letting agent. To prevent the threatened court action, I paid by debit card and they have charged me the same amount twice!!!!


Sick and tired of the bully boy tactics regarding a debt they say I owe to t mobile/EE for a mobile phone bill for a number I have never even had. Be

Sep 04, 2014 by Kate Gough

Sick and tired of the bully boy tactics regarding a debt they say I owe to t mobile/EE for a mobile phone bill for a number I have never even had. Been receiving letters since March from them and I have even obtained a reference number from action fraud and given BCW the number but they are still pestering me. They must really think I am fool if I am about to pay them over £600.00 for a debt that I have not run up and that they cannot provide me with a copy of my signature on any consumer agreement Taken out by myself.


I today had a call from them regarding a "debt" which had been paid on 21 May. Their client is nPower whose accounts are a complete shambles. I refuse

Sep 04, 2014 by Thomas

I today had a call from them regarding a "debt" which had been paid on 21 May. Their client is nPower whose accounts are a complete shambles. I refused to speak to them, lets see what happens next.


While going through a divorce I have myself covered by form c8 , a court sanctioned confidentiality to my new address, but i was contacted by them ove

Sep 04, 2014 by Gordon Cocks

While going through a divorce I have myself covered by form c8 , a court sanctioned confidentiality to my new address, but i was contacted by them over a bill not mine but the wife,s , due to the reason why i applied for for form c8 i paid her bill , and interest and compensation to the company who,s bill it was, but now I have a bad credit score


Why are they trying to contact someone I have never heard of on my mobile phone?????

Sep 02, 2014 by Ac

Why are they trying to contact someone I have never heard of on my mobile phone?????


This company is unbelievable!!! I have been contacted relentlessly after hours, regarding an account for I company I work for. Apart from the fact tha

Aug 28, 2014 by Pauline Edwards

This company is unbelievable!!! I have been contacted relentlessly after hours, regarding an account for I company I work for. Apart from the fact that they had the incorrect & outdated information regarding the account, they are aggressive & provocative in their approach. Be very weary when dealing with them!


Buchanan Clark & Wells are chasing me for a debit that isn't even mine. I am the landlord of some industrial units and it is the tenant they should b

Aug 28, 2014 by Peter Barke

Buchanan Clark & Wells are chasing me for a debit that isn't even mine. I am the landlord of some industrial units and it is the tenant they should be persuing, but will they listen. No. If every landlord in the country was made responsible for a tenant's debt, no-one would be renting property to anyone.


3yrs ago i broke my back,so have not worked since(and never will) I now owe many thousands to many people.(luckily i had ppi on my car) I have been mo

Aug 26, 2014 by Bill

3yrs ago i broke my back,so have not worked since(and never will) I now owe many thousands to many people.(luckily i had ppi on my car) I have been moved to a council owned and adapted flat.My rent is paid but all else comes out of my 105 pounds a week esa.I have sent details of my injuries which have been accepted in court,but BCW don\'t accept it! I have 2 debts with them (£595 and £450)Which are but the tip of the iceberg .As i have told them,\"i have no money and no assets\".2 debts to 1st credit for £3300 and £850 have been written off.


I am a Support worker. We have had several phone calls from BCW regarding one of our clients, a lady with a learning disability. We have asked, on mor

Aug 13, 2014 by Helen Boreham

I am a Support worker. We have had several phone calls from BCW regarding one of our clients, a lady with a learning disability. We have asked, on more than one occasion for them to write to the lady with an accounting of the alleged debt. So far there has been no letter and BCW are still phoning our office.


Sadly in our modern society today we are blighted by people and institutions that contribute nothing to society. One such organization is Buchanan, Cl

Aug 11, 2014 by Alastair R Agutter (Author)

Sadly in our modern society today we are blighted by people and institutions that contribute nothing to society. One such organization is Buchanan, Clark an Wells and many others. Everyone has a choice in life regarding the path they take, an honourable one in pursuit of contributing to society or a dark road of self greed at all costs. The incumbents employed by these detestable businesses are just as repugnant as the enterprise itself and there is no justification for such primitives behaviour. Do not be intimidated by such degenerates but from their own greed and vanity expose them for what they are and so we need to shame these vain parasites that cause such personal misery engineered by an irresponsible monetary society. BCW Group Limited is part of Arvato Financial Solutions Limited and this link below
http://companycheck.co.uk/company/SC223606/ARVATO-FINANCIAL-SOLUTIONS-LIMITED/directors-secretaries

publicly details the Directors and Owners (parasites) and by Social Networking Publicly Exposing such parasites in society and will deter others and shape a better World For All!

Alastair :)


i have been paying this company off for months by cheque and they have cashed them every month without fail i finally got to my last payment i rang th

Aug 09, 2014 by syr1ana

i have been paying this company off for months by cheque and they have cashed them every month without fail i finally got to my last payment i rang them the day before i sent the cheque to make sure it was £69 and that would be the end they said yes it was so sent checque i haven't heard anything from them at all i went to check my credit report and low and behold they haven't cashed the cheque not contacted me and put it on my credit report as default now i cant get a mortgage i am so mad i don't know what to do!!


I got a letter last week from Buchanan Clark wells that they were organising a solicitor , should I ignore it or contact them as I already explained t

Aug 06, 2014 by Nic

I got a letter last week from Buchanan Clark wells that they were organising a solicitor , should I ignore it or contact them as I already explained to them I'm a single mother and cannot afford to pay them €900


Buchanan Clark Wells are are the most hated and the most evil firm of debt collectors that has ever existed they are extremely obnoxious and really na

Jul 30, 2014 by George

Buchanan Clark Wells are are the most hated and the most evil firm of debt collectors that has ever existed they are extremely obnoxious and really nasty people and verbal abuse is the only language they understand so don't hesitate to swear at them and give them plenty of vulgar swear words they don't own the consumer and sooner they are closed down by the Government the better if they harass you simply F..k them off!


I owe NPower £256.00 and my debt was passed on to Buchanan Clarke Wells. I spoke to them today saying I will be making my first payment on August 16t

Jul 28, 2014 by Aled Hughes

I owe NPower £256.00 and my debt was passed on to Buchanan Clarke Wells. I spoke to them today saying I will be making my first payment on August 16th as I\'ve just started my new job I offers £50.00 and they refused to take my payment they demanded £256.00 today. They were arrogant and very rude to me on the phone they had no customer skills. This company should be struck off by the Government. I have now drafted a letter of complaint to a government watchdog


what is your email address???????

Jul 24, 2014 by olivia

what is your email address???????


These crowd will eventually give up so don\'t anyone be worrying about them.They make threats, that\'s all they do.Their good at that but that\'s al

Jul 22, 2014 by jack

These crowd will eventually give up so don\'t anyone be worrying about them.
They make threats, that\'s all they do.
Their good at that but that\'s all they do.
Their a bunch of fools who will go away in the end.


I received a phone call today, the person was not aggressive and was actually ok! It was an error by O2 that led to the call and they have told me tha

Jul 21, 2014 by Chris

I received a phone call today, the person was not aggressive and was actually ok! It was an error by O2 that led to the call and they have told me that they will contact the agency (BCW) to cancel the outstanding debt request. I am more angry with O2 than this company.

Having said that, we\'ll see if they contact me again now that O2 have told me they will cancel the \'outstanding\' amount!


This company has purchased out of date so called debts from O2 amongst others in 2014. The \"debt\" they have attributed to me is completely false. It

Jul 18, 2014 by WildWood Raider

This company has purchased out of date so called debts from O2 amongst others in 2014. The \"debt\" they have attributed to me is completely false. It truly is a waste of time to phone them. Nasty and aggressive just want me to phone a premium rate number to set up payments. It worries me that some people would be so intimidated and harassed that they might start paying them for a non existent debt. Stand firm. Send signed for letter and they cannot prove a thing. Don\'t expect them to acknowledge your letter though.


I have read many of the posts on this forum with great interest and I hope that what I`m going to add will help a lot of people and put minds at rest.

Jul 16, 2014 by Peter

I have read many of the posts on this forum with great interest and I hope that what I`m going to add will help a lot of people and put minds at rest. Basically there are two ways that Companies usually use to gain payment of a debt, both of which include debt collection agencies like BC&W. Either they will ask the agency to collect the debt or they will sell it to the agency for them to collect for themselves. You all will probably be aware of the methods they use, letters, phone calls, SMS messages etc. My advise (and I`ll explain the reason later) is, if you are telephoned, refuse to answer the security questions and tell them that you will never discuss anything with them on the phone, tell them to write to you (NOT email). When you get a letter make sure that you actually owe the debt. Any doubt the write to them and ask for proof IN WRITING such as a copy of a signed credit agreement. NEVER telephone them and make sure you keep copies of all letters.
Now we come to the interesting part and this is something they will not like you knowing. Letters may threaten Court action, Bailiffs, Attachment of Earnings orders and suchlike. But, in order to do that the Company would need to issue County Court proceedings and obtain a Judgement against you. Now here is where it gets interesting, no Company may Sue a person unless they employ a Solicitor. For Civil debt these agencies can do NOTHING but threaten. The reason they don`t employ lawyers is because it is so incredibly expensive. Even the Court Fee to issue a summons alone is often more than the debt. Add to that the Solicitors hourly rate (currently ranging from £300 to £500 (or more) PER HOUR ! Even if you were sued the Court would be sympathetic and only order installments you can realistically afford but, as I say, the chance of that is pretty much zilch. All you need to do is tell the debt agencies how much you are going to pay per month and stick to it. If they send you income and expenditure forms ignore them, they have no right to your private information. So, in short don`t worry, deal with it the way I suggest. You have nothing whatsoever to fear. I hope this helps some folk and rids them of worrying about threats that cannot be carried out. :-)


I am fuming with this company..! Rang them the other day about my provident loan of which I changed the address in April and no one turned up then I r

Jul 11, 2014 by Stacey

I am fuming with this company..! Rang them the other day about my provident loan of which I changed the address in April and no one turned up then I received a letter bcw, I rang them and all I got was attitude saying I got to pay £50 a month and I'm telling them I can't afford that at the moment has I'm on maternity and go back to work sept , I rang provident and they didn't change my address on their system so I tryed to explain to bcw and they are having none of it, so it's not my fault, so now I've got bcw on my case..!


I have tried to contact this company after having my phone line disconnected due to the fact that my brother died last year and have tried since then

Jul 11, 2014 by mark steel

I have tried to contact this company after having my phone line disconnected due to the fact that my brother died last year and have tried since then to sort out his estate. This company have stopped me from contacting anybody and therefore I cannot complete this. Why? this is all for a bill of around £400 and they have harassed me since then


i live in ireland and got sent a bill by eircom (phone ) ,which i queried ,then after 6 months of hearing nothing ,got a letter from said cowboys ,whi

Jul 09, 2014 by mickk

i live in ireland and got sent a bill by eircom (phone ) ,which i queried ,then after 6 months of hearing nothing ,got a letter from said cowboys ,which i again queried ,but was just sent another very threatening letter ; i emailed twice asking for confirmation of emails ,but got no reply ,surprise ,then tried to fax ,but hey ,no luck as it wouldn\'t switch to fax to receive ,so emailed again ;then spoke to Eircom direct to complain,gave them some stick ,and they then wrote the debt ,100 euro ,off .Pure cowboys ,who deserve a good s**p , don\'t be intimidated by them . Have only given 1 star as couldn\'t give none !!!!


this company has contacted me saying they're collecting money on behalf of t mobile. I have an old t mobile account from years ago that I know I paid

Jun 28, 2014 by Nichola jane

this company has contacted me saying they're collecting money on behalf of t mobile. I have an old t mobile account from years ago that I know I paid up. now I'm receiving letters threatening me with legal action and when I rung them they threatened to send someone to my house. I for one am not prepared to pay money I don't even owe and if they come to my door I will be bringing the police


I've just received my phone bill after talking to this company. The 26 minute phone call cost me £9!! Their letter did not indicate that it'd cost a

Jun 27, 2014 by Milly

I've just received my phone bill after talking to this company. The 26 minute phone call cost me £9!! Their letter did not indicate that it'd cost a small fortune to talk to them on a mobile. My debt with British Gas has now been settled and I'd put it behind me, but this has really p'd me off!


I have spoken to, emailed, scanned and faxed information to these fools over an outstanding bill of £800 for an EON energy bill.(tl;dr version - te

Jun 27, 2014 by Mike

I have spoken to, emailed, scanned and faxed information to these fools over an outstanding bill of £800 for an EON energy bill.

(tl;dr version - tenant leaves house without paying bills, BCW chase landlord, landlord gives information, BCW prove they are a bunch of incompetents with no understanding of the law)

Even though I own the house, I haven\'t lived in there for 8 years and have had a few tenants who leave with no forwarding addresses and don\'t bother paying the last 3-6 months on their bills. When they move out I dutifully call all the energy/water/cable/telephone companies (as of course they have a pile of unpaid bills lying around) to let them know what has happened.

Like most people here the first I knew about this outstanding amount was when I got a FINAL demand (I didn\'t receive an initial demand either) and an \'invitation\' to call them to discuss paying it other wise CCJ, courts fees, admin charges etc would be the next step.

I did a search on http://www.saynoto0870.com/ to get a cheap number for them, called and explained it wasn\'t my debt - gave the contact details of the tenant I had (name, bank details and mobile number). My parting words where - \"Now go and hassle the actual person who owes you the money.\"

6 weeks later I get a letter saying that this was insufficient and they were \'instructed by their client\' to chase me for the debt.

Having already checked them out and knowing their collection methods (I\'d also called EON to discuss this outstanding debt and they told me it would be cancelled against my name) I gave them another call to explain the legal position regarding landlords and my conversation with EON - all in words of 1 syllable so the telephone operator could understand... When that conversation went nowhere I told them I would only communicate with them by email as that way I would have written proof of their inaccuracies and mistakes. Due to their ineptitude I requested a stop on the collection and told them that any further requests for payment by phone/letter or email with their usual accompanying threats would be noted and classed as harassment to myself and my family (we use EON in our home and my wife got really stressed out when she saw their initial demand saying I owed so much money - thought I\'d not been paying the bills!).

They then requested a copy of the front page of the tenancy agreement - no problem I emailed it over that day

3 weeks later I sent them another copy of the front page as they\'d lost the first one - what you\'ve lost an email of an ongoing case??

2 weeks after this I sent them a copy of the back page of the tenancy agreement as they\'d forgotten to ask for that in the first place....

4 weeks after that I get this shyster legalise letter that\'s a \'copied and paste\' response full of inaccuracies

\"I write with regard to your email of 16st April 2014, issued in relation to the aforementioned account.

BCW acts in good faith on the information and instructions issued to us by our clients. We are passed this information on the basis that the information provided is true and correct at the time of issue. We were, at no time, advised by our client of any ongoing disputes or unresolved complaint issues. In this instance, we were passed an account in your name with instructions to pursue for the full balance accordingly. By passing the matter to this office for debt recovery purposes our client was satisfied that the balance is due and collectable.

The nature of the concerns raised in your letter meant BCW was unable to investigate and therefore respond without seeking assistance from our client. Accordingly, we referred the issues raised back to our client for consideration. A cessation of collection activity was authorised whilst we awaited information that would have afforded us the opportunity to sufficiently address the issues raised and subsequently allow us to progress matters towards an amicable resolution.

Our client is aware of your concerns and is investigating the matter however, as the complaint is now 8 weeks old and remains unresolved, we are obligated to respond at this time updating you on the situation and our reasons for being unable to provide a detailed response addressing your concerns. The account shall remain on hold pending an update from our client.

In view of the above, I can confirm that as we were not in a position that would allow us to undertake any substantive investigation into your claims we are at present unable to conclude whether or not your complaint has been refuted or upheld.

We are a member of the Credit Services Association who can be contacted in the event of you remaining dissatisfied with the conduct of BCW. The Credit Services will consider your concerns as an impartial external arbitrator.\"

...So still not sorted the idiots

My advice would be to know your rights, don\'t get stressed with them - they are just ineffectual bully boys - and definitely don\'t deal with them on the phone, do it via email so you can calmly get your thoughts and responses together - they will soon show how inept they are with failing to carry out the basic checks and balances you would expect from any reputable company.


I'm getting bullied by this company apparently I owe money to npower for last property but I moved before these charges we're made. Had enough they ke

Jun 26, 2014 by Tasha

I'm getting bullied by this company apparently I owe money to npower for last property but I moved before these charges we're made. Had enough they keep calling and sending letters when I proved I didn't live there at the time!!!


I got an email from these people saying \"We have recently sent you a letter giving you the final opportunity to agree a solution with us.Unfortunate

Jun 18, 2014 by CC

I got an email from these people saying \"We have recently sent you a letter giving you the final opportunity to agree a solution with us.
Unfortunately you have not taken this opportunity and contacted us in order to resolve this matter. You now have 48 hours to do so otherwise this matter may be referred to one of our doorstep agents with the intention of visiting you at your home in order to discuss your account and agree repayment.\"

They didn\'t have the right name for me, and I have never heard from them before. I am not in any debt and I have no idea what it is about.

I just assumed it was a scam and forwarded it to the public email address for the company. I said I had no idea what it was about, and they then replied and said they could only tell me if I gave them my full address and date of birth. I said of course i wouldn\'t be giving my personal info to someone I don\'t know, with no details about what it was about - and they said I would be threatened with court action.
I have no idea what to do- I don\'t have any debts and I won\'t be giving them a thing - where do I stand legally on this?

They are so unhelpful - and don\'t understand the stress this can bring to someone\'s life!


Getting bullied by these terrible attitude when u phone them Never had the loan or lived at the address they are stating terrible what can I do to ge

Jun 18, 2014 by vicku

Getting bullied by these terrible attitude when u phone them
Never had the loan or lived at the address they are stating terrible what can I do to get them off my back


i am getting bullied by this company and they are not getting f**k all out of me

Jun 14, 2014 by badboy

i am getting bullied by this company and they are not getting f**k all out of me


Just received another letter this one stating they are doing a property visit !!!!!

Jun 13, 2014 by Kerry

Just received another letter this one stating they are doing a property visit !!!!!


During April 2013 I received over 31 calls in less than 10 days from this bunch of cowboys, many different numbers around the country, although usuall

Jun 10, 2014 by Anonemouse

During April 2013 I received over 31 calls in less than 10 days from this bunch of cowboys, many different numbers around the country, although usually from either Glasgow or Bristol. Very abusive Customer Services if you query the debt.

I asked for a copy of the CCA and all I got was the final statement. I informed them that they were in breach of the CCA request and I was bombarded with threats and innuendos by mail for a month. They could not produce the CCA and was informed the day i placed the debt query with the FOS but they were still very abusive demanding payments or threatening things that they could not do in law.

At the time the debt was with the original creditor and I was being threatened with CCJ, Bankruptcy, Charging Orders and Fraud by these scum. The more they threatened the more I laughed at them as they could not do any of this. I eventually reported them to Trading Standards and the Police for harassment.

Just be aware that the words \"may\", \"could\", \"bailiff\" and the such are used willy nilly by them and they are praying on you to pay. Just ensure that they have the right to collect the money by sending them a CCA request. If they have not got one then immediately place the account in dispute and DO NOT PAY them until they produce it. Anyway WHY are YOU paying a DCA. You should always pay the ORIGINAL creditor.


Originally BCW acting for Vodafone tried to saddle me with a debt for £80+ which was for a mobile from my employer who went into liquidation.I asked

Jun 09, 2014 by Brian Flory

Originally BCW acting for Vodafone tried to saddle me with a debt for £80+ which was for a mobile from my employer who went into liquidation.
I asked them for proof that the debt was my personal debt which they could never provide, all bills went to my employer. After I threatened to take them to court for harassment they finally gave up. Now 13 years after I moved house I have received another letter regarding \"a private matter\" and would I phone them. NO.....


had a phone call tonight asking to ring and given a ref number, i rang to see who and what it was.... never heard of the company! never dealt with the

Jun 03, 2014 by Mrs E Quinn

had a phone call tonight asking to ring and given a ref number, i rang to see who and what it was.... never heard of the company! never dealt with the company! never gave out my x directory tel number either so why the phone call? idiots


You lot are a bunch of cowboys!!!Who the F**K do you think you are calling and making threats

May 30, 2014 by Angry Annoyed And Harrased Human

You lot are a bunch of cowboys!!!

Who the F**K do you think you are calling and making threats


This company invade your privacy, they use methods to trace your phone number and this is an intrusion of privacy

May 28, 2014 by Kate

This company invade your privacy, they use methods to trace your phone number and this is an intrusion of privacy


Hi to allI can understand what all of you are saying. I used to work for BCW as a debt collector. I would like to tell you that no one can ask for an

May 26, 2014 by Ronnie

Hi to all
I can understand what all of you are saying. I used to work for BCW as a debt collector. I would like to tell you that no one can ask for anything more than you can afford. If they ask you to pay in full then ask them to take your income and expenditure details (same as CAB would do) and make an offer on the basis of disposable income. They cannot refuse that (as per law).

If you used to live in a property that you have vacated and the bill is in your name, no one will be able to do anything unless you provide a tenancy agreement showing when you vacated that property (even if you go to financial ombudsman or trading standards, they will ask for the same). If some one is saying that they are liable for the payment instead of the person who\'s name is on the notice, then that person should just pay the amount that is mentioned on the letter because no one will speak to them without authorisation of the one who\'s name is on the letter.

if you have received a letter asking for money and that person does not stay there then please call BCW and inform them of a forwarding address or phone number, if you dont have any clue who the person is then ask them to remove your details from the system and you get in touch with equifax or experian because some one might have used your address to commit a fraud. Till the time you dont inform the credit reference agencies the trace will keep on coming back to you resulting in more calls and letters.

Statute Barred: - This is only possible if you have not been contacted by your creditor to pay the outstanding for 6 years (for england and wales) and 5 years for scotland.

If you have been contacted even once then further actin can be taken, but if not then any debt collection agency can still pursue for the debt but cannot take you to court or request attachment of earnings.

No matter what the scenario is, its always good to explain your genuine circumstances, regardless what debt collection agency it is! Trust me, they will listen.

Hope this was of help!

Cheers

Response: Thanks for the great comment Ronnie, much appreciated and some good advice there. I would disagree with what you say about statute barred debts. It makes no difference when or how many times someone has been contacted, it\'s the amount of time lapsed since a payment/default that counts. If you pay even £1 1 day before a debt becomes barred the clock starts back to 6 years again.


I posted my story here on 25th April. At this time I was told by the CAB to contact EE Ltd directly. So I sent them a recorded delivery letter givin

May 24, 2014 by Steve

I posted my story here on 25th April. At this time I was told by the CAB to contact EE Ltd directly. So I sent them a recorded delivery letter giving them 14 days to acknowledge. So 1 month later I still haven\'t heard from EE Ltd. I ran my own credit check on Equifax which showed that I don\'t owe T-Mobile (as was) any money, the agreement was satisfied with no delinquent payments 4 years ago! But I have now had another email from BCW telling me that their investigation is ongoing. I am very aggrieved that I am having to deal with this and that. it would seem, any such company can just start harassing someone when acting on incorrect information.


This company added a £54 charge to my outstanding debt with British Gas! I had contacted them to try and sort out my gas bill which yes, was overdue

May 23, 2014 by Milly

This company added a £54 charge to my outstanding debt with British Gas! I had contacted them to try and sort out my gas bill which yes, was overdue, but I had been making regular small payments, it should have been obvious to all that I was not intending to duck out of paying the debt! Not at any point during the phone call with BCW did they tell me they would be charging me. I'm so glad I didn't pay them a penny. He insisted that BG wouldn't accept anything less than payment in full, which is not true. I have since telephoned BG to sort out the outstanding, in arranged part payments, and their nasty £54 has been refunded to me. I have learned in future to talk to the utility companies directly, they usually do try and help, but sometimes when it's all getting you down, you don't want to talk to any body...


They are a disgusting company I had a loan in 2008 with greenwood and was paying £40 a fortnight. Then due to ill health had to give up work so I req

May 16, 2014 by bluebird

They are a disgusting company I had a loan in 2008 with greenwood and was paying £40 a fortnight. Then due to ill health had to give up work so I requested a payment plan with greenwood and was told a manager would call to set up payment. Plan and after numerous calls no one to came out I had made around £320 of payments to greenwood. And had a balance left of £312 I have now had letter from this sham of a company saying I owe £635 and won\'t listen to my explanation that I don\'t owe this amount. I have spoken to greenwood who have said they have no record of my payment Book as it would have been shredded so how can I prove my payments bcw are threatening. Me with further. Action as they want the full amount as the bought the debt what are my options. They don\'t frighten me but it\'s frustrating that they want. Me to pay the amount iv already paid


The first time I spoke with bcw I was horrified. I have never dealt with a company rep who was so hostile. I was hysterical but fortunately my husband

May 06, 2014 by Molly

The first time I spoke with bcw I was horrified. I have never dealt with a company rep who was so hostile. I was hysterical but fortunately my husband was at home with me at the time and was able to give as good I got. Without being devil's advocate, I must point out that a collection agency can only work with the information they are given by their client. That said, I would advise anyone who is repaying a debt to keep every single receipt, letter etc. Take photocopies, use your camera phone whatever, just make sure you can retrace all your steps.
If you have right on your side, persevere!


I don't really know much about this company, but they keep on calling and asking for 'Mr Ian Varley', and when i hang up I receive messages telling me

May 03, 2014 by Lottie

I don't really know much about this company, but they keep on calling and asking for 'Mr Ian Varley', and when i hang up I receive messages telling me to call them. They obviously have my mobile number mixed with someone else's, because I'm a girl and my name is definitely not Ian xD


I received the second Buchannon Clark and Wells letter I cancelled the direct debit with EE as they never kept up there end of the contract So now the

May 02, 2014 by Steven Conway

I received the second Buchannon Clark and Wells letter I cancelled the direct debit with EE as they never kept up there end of the contract So now there been sending letter but I called them before I cancelled as well so now I don\'t know what to do.


TERRIBLE!! I currently have a standing order with N Power to pay an outstanding debt, but these guys will NOT stop sending me letters asking to pay th

Apr 28, 2014 by Danelle McKenzie

TERRIBLE!! I currently have a standing order with N Power to pay an outstanding debt, but these guys will NOT stop sending me letters asking to pay them a lot More than I actually owe N Power. I have called to stop the letters but they cannot stop sending me them? Even though I am dealing directly with N Power. It's unwanted hassle, especially when you are actually paying back the money they say I now owe to them. Now I have just received a NOTICE OF IMPENDING FURTHER ACTION How to I stop this. N Power simply say it's not us and Buchanan Clarke and wells say they cannot stop sending them?


I received the same FINAL NOTICE letter (although this was the first letter) from this company, which was forwarded to me by my ex-wife. They claimed

Apr 25, 2014 by Steve

I received the same FINAL NOTICE letter (although this was the first letter) from this company, which was forwarded to me by my ex-wife. They claimed I owed EE Ltd £74.67 and if not paid it would be referred back to EE Ltd. I then got a second letter 2 months later telling me that I now owed EE Ltd nearly £600 (presumably adding on £500 as their charges. I was not aware of this supposed debt and had never been contacted by EE Ltd in the first instance. having spoken to the CAB and run a credit check on myself (I can highly recommened Equifax (not least of all because you get the first month free and can then cancel). As a result of this I was able to send this company the email below. I had already sent a more detailed email. I'm trusting this will be the end of it - I have deliberately not made any other direct contact with them as I do not want to engage with them or to give them any of my details - although I have indicated I will deal directly with EE Ltd.

Sirs,

Further to my email this morning I have done further checks. I have run an Equifax report which show the following;

i) A credit agreement with Everythingeverywhere T/A Orange which was satisfied 08/03/2012 with no delinquent balance.
ii) A credit agreement with EE Ltd T/A T-Mobile which was satisfied on 21/02/2010 with no delinquent balance.

I have also spoken to Equifax who have confirmed there are no other outstanding accounts with EE Ltd and therefore I do not owe them any money.

In the light of this it is clear that I do not & did not owe EE Ltd the £74.67 from your original letter. And I am certainly not liable for any further costs.

I have spoken to the CAB who are notifying trading standards regarding your notification of intention to visit. They have also confirmed my point made in my earlier email that you have no jurisdiction. If EE Ltd decide to pursue a sum of money that is clearly not owed they will need to gain a court order which will need to be presented to me by a court bailiff, although given the evidence I have a court clearly would not rule in their favour.

Should a representative from your company visit my former home the CAB have advised me, as I did you, that this could be a matter for the police to decide whether your actions constitute harassment which is a criminal offence.

Yours sincerely


I wrote to these people on Match 21st stating I cancelled my direct debit due to my bank account being compromised I nevet got an acknowledgement from

Apr 16, 2014 by ian melville

I wrote to these people on Match 21st stating I cancelled my direct debit due to my bank account being compromised I nevet got an acknowledgement from them saying they got my letter with my new bank account details, I received a letter from them stating you haven\'t paid your latest installment, they are threatening to send someone to my door to get this sorted,........why is it when you write to those people they always say we didn\'t receive any letter.......what a waste of time explaining things when they don\'t have the decency to acknowledge your correspondence.


I have just answered the phone to these horrible w*&&^$^s.what nasty nasty people they are. I discussed my situation nicely but once you\'ve passed

Apr 16, 2014 by sheffield

I have just answered the phone to these horrible w*&&^$^s.
what nasty nasty people they are. I discussed my situation nicely but once you\'ve passed security that\'s it you won\'t be allowed to get in another word. They deliberately try and trap you until they reiterate \"what are you going to pay today?\" \"do you have a debit card to hand\". Then arrogantly she said \"what do you do for a living\". Disgusting. Makes me not want to pay the debt.


i have had dealings with these creeps, have rang and rang, eventually ot a so called supervisor to ring me, said they were recording my call, said fin

Apr 08, 2014 by ireland

i have had dealings with these creeps, have rang and rang, eventually ot a so called supervisor to ring me, said they were recording my call, said fine, i am recording them as well, asked for my dob, i asked for his, for security reasons of course...asked what solicitors they were using, ot a curt reply of \"we will leave it here for today\"...told him to go jump and said that\'s fine


I just moved into this house not long ago and a EE came to the new house so because I knew the old tennant I wrote there address on the back and signe

Apr 08, 2014 by Steven

I just moved into this house not long ago and a EE came to the new house so because I knew the old tennant I wrote there address on the back and signed with and printed my name then that\'s when these debt collectors started sending me letters plus it\'s now a final notice and I don\'t know what to do .If you have any info or can help it would be much appreciated thanks


i have had problems with this company for about 6 weeks now...i was bullied into paying 23.00 a week i explained i couldnt pay that much and offered 5

Apr 04, 2014 by hyde

i have had problems with this company for about 6 weeks now...i was bullied into paying 23.00 a week i explained i couldnt pay that much and offered 5 a week they intimated me in to paying the 23 a week threating me with further action i have tried to make payments to them i offered them 5 a week which they accepted and since then i have been harassed with phone calls and letters saying the payments havent been made in the end i asked for a direct debt to be set up and once again phone calls to say the payment has been returned on calling my bank they have comfirmed that no direct debit has been set up and nothing returned i called bcw group to say this and they have called my bank liars my bank are now sending me this proof to send to them bcw are now once again threating me with futher action i am sick and tried of trying to sort this when they are so are so intimating and cant do their jobs


I received a call today looking for someone who does not live at my address. This man was extremely rude and intimidating and did not tell me the nam

Apr 04, 2014 by JOHN

I received a call today looking for someone who does not live at my address. This man was extremely rude and intimidating and did not tell me the name of the company without me insisting that I know who had called and abused me verbally. He would not give any information further information for security reasons. I feel for anyone who actually have to deal with this company. I have given this gentlemen one star but in reality it should be nil,


This company are chasing my dad who's 97 stone deaf and dying for a debt through EON. My dad lives with me so he doesn't have to go into a nursing hom

Apr 02, 2014 by Kathy

This company are chasing my dad who's 97 stone deaf and dying for a debt through EON. My dad lives with me so he doesn't have to go into a nursing home. The company won't speak to me due to data protection despite being told time and time again that he is stone deaf and can't use the phone. We are receiving constant phone calls and threatening letters from them. Finally I phoned EON in tears and begged for their help. The finance guy at EON was shocked. Why do companies such as EON pass their debts onto a firm such as BCW. Surely they have a duty of care to their customers and should regulate who they pass their debts onto. I've given them 1 star only because I had to !!!


I am yet to deal directly with the company, and I am even nervous to call them up after reading all these comments! My ex is chasing me for money I do

Mar 31, 2014 by Miss Peeved

I am yet to deal directly with the company, and I am even nervous to call them up after reading all these comments! My ex is chasing me for money I do not owe him. He has threatened to take me to court, I refused to still give him the money and now BCW has sent a letter to my parents house looking for me. I have to confirm who I am, and I will. And if they try asking for more information on me they will not get it until they tell me what they are claiming from me and to tell them I have proof I owe nothing! Until they provide information on what is being asked of me, I'm not budging!


Checked my monthly company credit card statement and found a charge by BCW Group Ltd ( glasgow ) for over £250 ,never heard of them and certainly nev

Mar 27, 2014 by Business guy

Checked my monthly company credit card statement and found a charge by BCW Group Ltd ( glasgow ) for over £250 ,never heard of them and certainly never had any contact from them ever .Have contacted my bank ,card has been stopped -money refunded and has been passed to the fraud department ,and have sent off a disclaimer form to the bank as well. How this company used my company card details i guess i`ll never know but as far as i`m concerned it is theft so i hope the bank chase them as i have seen from the reviews here they are very adept in harrasing people, i will update if i hear any more


My experience with this company is receiving constant automated messages on my telephone asking me to phone a specific telephone number and quoting a

Mar 21, 2014 by Susie

My experience with this company is receiving constant automated messages on my telephone asking me to phone a specific telephone number and quoting a reference number. These calls are causing a real problem as I am now afraid to answer any telephone calls at all. I am 100% certain I owe no money to anyone and we have only had our telephone number for 6 months so it is a mystery where they got my telephone number from or why they are calling - however the automated message does not refer to me by name so I am assuming they are selecting random numbers hoping that someone will call them back and then give personal information such as name address etc which will enable BCW to cause further hassle. How do we STOP these nuisance calls.


BCW what can I say , first time I spoke with them I got the advisor Jamie this lad has a terrible attitude , he shouted down the phone telling me to s

Mar 20, 2014 by nick

BCW what can I say , first time I spoke with them I got the advisor Jamie this lad has a terrible attitude , he shouted down the phone telling me to shut up , needless to say the air turned blue then I put the phone down
I telephoned them back 2 days later and it was Jamie again , he started quizzing me about others living with me so argument part 2 started , I refused to answer any questions unless he put his boss on the phone "he was busy " but he would ring me back! was the answer he stated I was commiting a criminal offence in not answering his questions I called him a silly boy and a liar then hung up
one hour later the phone rang the voice told me that he was the shift supervisor and calls were being recorded for training purposes , my reply was " I know I have you on loudspeaker and I am recording the call myself " he hung up!. The next day I got another call from another supervisor explaining they needed my d.o.b for security reasons I asked with whom I was talking to and he said his name was Jamie , yes and it was the same little squirt , I refused to answer his questions , he started getting irate so I started singing to him down the phone , finally after 3 more threatening letters I was sent a phone number and a csa name in Leeds who sorted my problem out in 5 mins .


They have sent my mother (78) a debt for over 400 pounds with a name of a person that she does not know and has never lived at the property and threat

Mar 17, 2014 by Don Stubbs

They have sent my mother (78) a debt for over 400 pounds with a name of a person that she does not know and has never lived at the property and threatened to send around field agents... i rang them to tell them its nothing to do with my mother said they would give it to another department. I asked them to send me a e mail confirming said no as cant do.. but i said you can send an innocent pensioner a demanding letter that\'s spurious at the best... i have now threatened legal action if it happens again with the small claims court for harassment - see how they like it...


On each of the two telephone calls that I had with Buchanan Clark and Wells staff, I was asked - using these words: \"For security purposes, would you

Mar 13, 2014 by Ian

On each of the two telephone calls that I had with Buchanan Clark and Wells staff, I was asked - using these words: \"For security purposes, would you confirm your date of birth\".

This tells me, and their thousands of other culprits, that they have my DOB on file, and that they want me to confirm that I know what it is - for security purposes: to prove that I am whom I claim to be.

In fact, Buchanan Clark and Wells are:

a. lying: Buchanan Clark and Wells do not have my DOB on file;

b. not doing this for security purposes - to prove that I am whom I claim to be;

c. using deception to try to extract information from me which I am not required to divulge to them - and which Buchanan Clark and Wells are not entitled to extract or require from me.

I raised my concerns with both of Buchanan Clark and Wells agents on both calls, and on the second call I asked that my complaints on this should be immediately raised; and I asked what procedures would be followed.

I was told that Buchanan Clark and Wells would write to me advising how to complain.

They still have not done this.


I have had dealings with them. They are chasing debt for my step son and partner and because we live in the same area,and unfortunately have the same

Mar 11, 2014 by Emma Clifton

I have had dealings with them. They are chasing debt for my step son and partner and because we live in the same area,and unfortunately have the same surname they have been ringing my home on almost a daily basis. Last July I rang them and told them they had the wrong person and this was not their address and was promised my details would be removed from the records. They clearly were not as before Christmas bcw started ringing my house again. I have since complained this time higher up the chain and so far it has stopped. It\'s just very stressful and extremely annoying.


I gave BC&W a five star rating because I thought it was for netconsumers.org not the debt collector so I stand corrected and I give BC&W an official b

Mar 07, 2014 by cmross

I gave BC&W a five star rating because I thought it was for netconsumers.org not the debt collector so I stand corrected and I give BC&W an official big fat ZERO

Response: That\'s edited for you! :)


I've had an email from these recently, not that I know where they got my email from. Not that I'm worried about an email address as I send a reply

Mar 07, 2014 by cm ross

I've had an email from these recently, not that I know where they got my email from.

Not that I'm worried about an email address as I send a reply return email to state that (my) email is automated and unattended, Stops the emails.
Anyway Apparently I need to contact then urgently quoting the ref they give. Another debt collection company added to the list, as the same debt changes companies. I don't even bother to reply as I know the debt and I re pay to the company I owe to, and pay or deal with no one else.
deal with your debtor/s only, ever, and not the bullying jackals, is my motto.


We are a children\'s charity whom B.c.W are trying to extort money through Business stream for alleged water rates which we believe should not be paid

Mar 04, 2014 by gordon neil

We are a children\'s charity whom B.c.W are trying to extort money through Business stream for alleged water rates which we believe should not be paid through exemption. As you have stated BCW are trying bully boy tactics but have failed to provide the name of a manager whom we could cite in court.


Debt with greenwoods was getting paid until they decided to send some clown to collect who was crying and threatening my family in my own house, don\'

Feb 27, 2014 by barry

Debt with greenwoods was getting paid until they decided to send some clown to collect who was crying and threatening my family in my own house, don\'t give debt collectors anything because they don\'t know what is going on. You\'re not getting s**t from me


I agreed to pay back through bcw an amount I owed tmobile. Only one month in and they have already taken two payments for one month. I explained that

Feb 26, 2014 by k mccarthy

I agreed to pay back through bcw an amount I owed tmobile. Only one month in and they have already taken two payments for one month. I explained that I could only pay a small amount. Total thieves.


Got an email from these guys this morning. They are asking me to contact them. Im on benefits that are not even getting paid, last payment was 25 Dec

Feb 25, 2014 by anon28

Got an email from these guys this morning. They are asking me to contact them. Im on benefits that are not even getting paid, last payment was 25 Dec 2013. What are the chances?


I owed BCW £107, paid them 50 in January, and promised to pay the rest in April when i get paid, i explained that i am a single parent who is a full

Feb 21, 2014 by anonymous1989

I owed BCW £107, paid them 50 in January, and promised to pay the rest in April when i get paid, i explained that i am a single parent who is a full time student and student finance haven\'t sorted my claim and am therefore thousands of pounds of income down this year, they dont care. I called up 21/02/2014 to pay £20 out of my childcare grant (which isn\'t even being paid to me at 50%) and they said they still will not wait 8 weeks for me to pay the last £37, they are constantly threatening to send debt collectors round, talk over you on the phone, will not discuss your circumstances, and refuse to set an payment plan that means it will take longer than a month to clear the debt. Buchanan Clark and Wells are bullies, the staff harass you, and I\'m guessing the \"big boss at the top\" requires his workers to operate in this way. The financial ombudsman needs to have at look at their ethos and working practices and stop them bullying people into paying money they cannot afford, and put an enforcement in place that means the people who owe them money are treated with some respect and understanding, instead all you get is bullied and ignored when you speak to them. Nothing is ever good enough for them, even with a small debt. I am now having to pay them over my essential bills where services can be cut off, and scared that they will come and take what little i have that i have worked so very hard for me and my son to have. By the sounds of it, the majority of people who have had dealing with BCW are not impressed with their aggressive debt collection methods.


Yes I agree with Kevin BCW are a very nasty company who should really not be operating in the Country at all and the sooner they are closed down the b

Feb 15, 2014 by Kam

Yes I agree with Kevin BCW are a very nasty company who should really not be operating in the Country at all and the sooner they are closed down the better They are nothing but parasites who believe they own the Country and there is no one but them and also believe they are the Untouchables, don\'t allow these vultures to bully you. I really hope they are closed down.


BCW short for Ba***rd C*** Wa***r are the most hated firm of debt collectors this Country has ever seen. They are such an obnoxious company and big he

Feb 15, 2014 by Kevin

BCW short for Ba***rd C*** Wa***r are the most hated firm of debt collectors this Country has ever seen. They are such an obnoxious company and big headed evil b*****s they should be closed down by the Government as these criminal gangsters would do everything in their powers to make money out of you If these vermin sadistic low lives threaten you don\'t hesitate to give these hungry nasty dogs plenty of verbal abuse as debt collectors need a good kick in the teeth the tax evading dodgy convicts.

Response: Wow - you don\'t mess around. Sorry for the edits, but I had to tone that down a bit! Thanks for the comment though Kevin.


It has come to my notice today that BCW are the same company as UMS.

Feb 13, 2014 by j. wiseman

It has come to my notice today that BCW are the same company as UMS.


This company have been harassing my parents who are both pensioners, my father is 80 and my mother is 68 years old, both ill and vulnerable living off

Feb 12, 2014 by J. Wiseman

This company have been harassing my parents who are both pensioners, my father is 80 and my mother is 68 years old, both ill and vulnerable living off their state pensions. They have been receiving telephone calls, threatening letters and caller to their home, because of a British gas debt. In my opinion this company should be investigated in the way they operate their business, my father has already had one stroke and does not need all this stress.


Clearly, Buchanan Clarke and Wells (or a crowd sending a letter and email to me) are a total scam. First off, they demand money I 'owe' a client compa

Feb 08, 2014 by Jack

Clearly, Buchanan Clarke and Wells (or a crowd sending a letter and email to me) are a total scam. First off, they demand money I 'owe' a client company I never dealt with. Secondly, their paper is of poor quality and their logo is also poor. Their language is not professional either. Their email was sent at 2AM on a Friday night. Overall, this is hardly what you'd expect from a reputable company and more what you would expect from some scammer. I think people should threaten these gangsters with the police and then follow up that promise if they contact again. The 'real Buchanan et al' may well exist and be a reputable firm but certainly the experience I just have had smacks of a scam similar to many more such ones.


Thank you for your honesty, I was not aware you are independent from BCW but you need to make this clearer. I apologize.

Jan 29, 2014 by Mr Guy

Thank you for your honesty, I was not aware you are independent from BCW but you need to make this clearer. I apologize.

Response: No worries buddy!


This company lacks empathy towards the clients plight and their employees are very rude. I\'m an Angel. No wonder they have bad reviews and reputation

Jan 29, 2014 by not happy

This company lacks empathy towards the clients plight and their employees are very rude. I\'m an Angel. No wonder they have bad reviews and reputation.


What's the point of making a comment when all submissions need to be appoved? If these bullies don't like what you've wrote they'll alter your wording

Jan 29, 2014 by Mr Guy

What's the point of making a comment when all submissions need to be appoved? If these bullies don't like what you've wrote they'll alter your wording. No I am not human. I am Ferengi.

Response: Hi Mr Guy. Comments are held for approval in case of spam, and the question about if you\'re human is to stop spam bots auto submitting. Your comments was approved in less than 10 minutes. I can assure you that nobody will alter your words, and we\'re not the debt collectors. This is an independent review site. Anybody can say whatever they like as long as it\'s not offensive.


Have read reviews and people have given BCW 5 star ratings yet slagged them off? I am giving then 0 stars as I think they should not be in business.

Jan 29, 2014 by MR Guy

Have read reviews and people have given BCW 5 star ratings yet slagged them off? I am giving then 0 stars as I think they should not be in business.
I am on a Debt Management program and everything has been going well for the past 5 years.
These bullies took over a known debt which I have been paying off, added a Wonga sum of money on top. They knew the debt was being paid so why take it on. These need to be looked into by Watchdog.
You have only to look at the bottom of the page where it asks you to check a box confirming you are human to realize these people are the ones who should be behind bars. ( Not pubs )
Guy the Gorilla.


I am receiving letters threatening the use of debt collectors from B C & W for a debt concerning a person who has never lived at my address!The supp

Jan 28, 2014 by Del

I am receiving letters threatening the use of debt collectors from B C & W for a debt concerning a person who has never lived at my address!
The supposed debt is with Provident Personal Credit for nearly £1000, but surely any Company like that would require proof of address etc before making a financial loan to someone?
Debt collectors? - bring it on!


I am sorting out a letter I received for my daughter, I have made 3 calls first two very helpful the third rude and reduced me to tears. When I was

Jan 22, 2014 by Margaret

I am sorting out a letter I received for my daughter, I have made 3 calls first two very helpful the third rude and reduced me to tears. When I was trying to get it sorted I end up hanging up RUDE RUDE RUDE


I got this letter from them that read Final Notice when I didn\'t even get a first notice, when I questioned it their person on the phone was a comple

Jan 21, 2014 by Barry Lowe

I got this letter from them that read Final Notice when I didn\'t even get a first notice, when I questioned it their person on the phone was a complete d*k who kept talking over me.


Unbelievably unhelpful and made out that they will never lose the SSE contract - are the directors interlinked?

Jan 07, 2014 by Guy

Unbelievably unhelpful and made out that they will never lose the SSE contract - are the directors interlinked?


It's hard to understand how a firm like this can exist. If you've had a similar experience to me, please at least tell the world.I won't go into the

Dec 05, 2013 by J T

It's hard to understand how a firm like this can exist. If you've had a similar experience to me, please at least tell the world.
I won't go into the entire saga but in a nutshell, NPower sent me a bill for a house that I didn't live at and in spite of me contacting them immediately to point out their error, they persisted in demanding money from me - including a charge for tracing me.
After various calls/emails to NPower I was under the impression that the matter was resolved and was amazed when a letter arrived from BCW demanding money.
I contacted both firms to tell them they'd made a mistake but the threatening letters kept coming.
Eventually I contacted the owner of the property myself, who emailed both companied to confirm that she was liable for the bill and offering to pay immediately. (I received copies of all emails so I know for sure this was done).
I heard nothing more for a couple of months and then suddenly got an email from BCW telling me to phone them (on their 30p a minute number).
I was told that I still had a bill to pay. I asked them if they'd received emails from the property owner and they confirmed they had but said that unless I provided them with tenancy agreements and council tax records to prove that I don't live at the address, then I would still be liable for the bill.
No amount of reasoning i.e. telling them to get back in touch with the property owner had any effect and so that's where things stand.
To sum up, a bill arrives for me for a company I've never had an account with for an address I don't live at, and BCW are saying I have to pay unless I can prove I didn't live there - and all this in spite of the property owner telling them several times to send her the bill, which she'll pay at once.
How can that be legal?
It's obvious to me that firms like this prey on the vulnerable but I'm not standing for it. Please help to rid the world of scum like this.

Response: Thanks JT, What a great comment, and good information for people dealing with BCW! - John


I am receiving letters for a person who has used my address and the letters from BCW Group are all \"final\"/\"verification letters\" and then asking

Nov 22, 2013 by Dianne

I am receiving letters for a person who has used my address and the letters from BCW Group are all \"final\"/\"verification letters\" and then asking me to contact them on a 0845 number to resolve the matter. I have sent them an email, received one back saying that the address has been removed from the file and today I receive another letter. I have replied by email: There response:

I write with regard to your email of November 6, 2013, issued in relation to the aforementioned account.
I can confirm we have undertaken substantive investigations into the issues raised in your above reference letter and have concluded that your complaint has not been upheld. The reasons for this are detailed below.

BCW Group acts in good faith on the information and instructions issued to us by our clients. We are passed this information on the basis that the information provided is true and correct at the time of issue. In this instance, we were passed a file in the name of Mr Kenneth M Williams with instructions to correspond accordingly.

Your above noted contact with this office was the first we have received in this regard and was therefore the first that we were aware that we held an incorrect address on our file. We could not have sought to update our system file sooner. We would not consider that our actions in this regard are therefore tantamount to harassment. Please be rest assured that the actions of BCW Group will have had no adverse effect on your property address or credit rating as you are not the named account holder.

I can confirm that we have updated our system file and you shall therefore receive no further correspondence in this regard. We thank you for bringing the matter to our attention initially and extend our apologies for any consternation caused. We are a member of the Credit Services Association who can be contacted in the event of you remaining dissatisfied with the conduct of BCW Group. The Credit Services will consider your concerns as an impartial external arbitrator.
My email to them today I response to another letter received today: As per your letter email dd 13th November, I am not sure what you mean about \"raised in your above reference letter and have concluded that your complaint has not been upheld\".


I have just received another letter from your company dated 19th November 2013 after an assurance by yourselves that my address has been taken off the file on the 13th November 2013.

Please advise:

When did Mr Kenneth M Williams live at my address?
Which Credit Reference Agency are you using?
Provide a toll free number as I am not paying your company to talk to a \"operator\" on an 0845 number
Please provide a contact for your accounts department to authorise the payment owed to me.

My charges for
emails from my address and received : 3 x £50 per email: £150.00
Calls to T mobile / EE to sort it out with your client: £30.00
Administration charges: £50
Total outstanding amount: £230.00
Any further letters addressed to my house for a Mr Kenneth M Williams will incur a higher charge as the costs rise per letter by 50%.
Payment is to be made within 21 days by cheque to myself as the payee.
Please use the address used for Mr Kenneth M Williams.

Will they pay my account? s company needs to be taken to task for their behaviour.


Contacted me about what turned out to be a fraudulent debt, someone had opened an account in my name using old out of date address details.They rang

Oct 28, 2013 by Gordon

Contacted me about what turned out to be a fraudulent debt, someone had opened an account in my name using old out of date address details.

They rang demanding I confirm my address, I quite reasonably asked what it was regarding and who they were, they explained they were a debt collection agency ringing about a debt with EE (formerly T-Mobile) I told them I had never had an account with that company, and that I was not prepared to give my address out on the phone based on inaccurate information. The BCW representative then told me that was fine but that it would be noted on my account that i had been contacted and was unprepared to co-operate and that this would be harmful to the consideration of my case.

Luckily I am no fool so I did not fall for this obvious attempt at manipulation and implicit threat and put the phone down on them. I did however then check my credit report via Experian which showed fraudulent activity and pursued that through the correct channels, and if they call again will quote my crime reference no before putting the phone down again :) Really horrid individual i spoke to, it was a bad line to start with and she also accused me of being hard of hearing and deliberately mishearing her in order to wriggle out of my \'debt\' Scum.


they keep phoning, so I now put the phone down them, they tried to contact me today 16/10/13, got fed up them trying it on, they are just bulliesdo

Oct 16, 2013 by jb

they keep phoning, so I now put the phone down them, they tried to contact me today 16/10/13, got fed up them trying it on, they are just bullies
do they not understand the word NO in simple English


Bullies! I have until 8pm to contact them or else!?!?! What? A letter? I'm quivering lol!

Oct 15, 2013 by Bring it!

Bullies! I have until 8pm to contact them or else!?!?! What? A letter? I'm quivering lol!


BIGGEST ******* AND BULLY BOY ********* IN THE WORLD.

Oct 08, 2013 by JOHN

BIGGEST ******* AND BULLY BOY ********* IN THE WORLD.


Net Consumers , USA 1.5 5.0 123 123 My elderly father, who is suffering from cancer received an N Power, bill from them, for an amount that he did not owe, the letter was heavy handed threatening an caused my father