About Cabot Financial

Cabot Financial provides collection facilities that comprise of collections made before the due date as well as debt collections that are overdue. This in house collection system ensures that their customers receive their funds without the least delay. Their services cover consumer debt collection, debt purchase, commercial debt collection, doorstep collection, implementing legal procedures and outsourcing services. Cabot contacts the debtors via phone calls and through their debt collection agents who negotiate payments with defaulters. If these methods fail to get the funds out of the debtor, Cabot financials resorts to law enforcement techniques through its legal partners.

If you’re having trouble with Cabot Financial you are not alone. There are nearly 5000 searches a month for their name in Google alone, which shows how many letters they must send out to new people every month. They are a reputable business in the sense that they are fully regulated. Of course, debt collectors are never going to be popular with the public due to the nature of their job. If you’re having problems with Cabot Financial then we suggest reading our two guides with IVA information and debt management information. There are many options to deal with debt collectors. The most important thing to remember is that they want something from you, not you from them. So you’re in control of this situation, don’t forget that!

Finally, at Net Consumers we give you the opportunity to share your experiences with the public, so please do leave your comments about how you’ve been treated – good or bad. You’ll likely help others!

Cabot Financial Info

www.cabotfinancial.co.uk
 0800 917 2226
 Cabot Financial, PO box 241, West Malling, Kent, ME19 4NA
Cabot Financial are a debt collection company.

 

Why not let us know how you feel about Cabot Financial, good or bad?

Let us know, you’ll feel better for it!

Click HERE to Write a Review


Submit your review
* Required Field

Cabot Finance bought my debt and have been paying 7 pounds a month like a idiot... They keep sending reduced amount to clear..but surely my debt is o

Oct 22, 2016 by lou

Cabot Finance bought my debt and have been paying 7 pounds a month like a idiot... They keep sending reduced amount to clear..but surely my debt is over seven years old and is no longer on my noddle credit report.. can any one advise me the legalities if i dont pay any more... i have never signed a agreement with them just continued to pay them as i did my original creditors... advice would be must appreciated


i became disabled through no fault of my own and got 500 pound in debt cabot have continuously harassed me for years then they started putting a warra

Sep 30, 2016 by indebt

i became disabled through no fault of my own and got 500 pound in debt cabot have continuously harassed me for years then they started putting a warrant of control through my door i wouldnt mind they dont even knock then when u phone them they say they did. the one guy who i phoned asked me was i threatening him when i lost my temper on the phone that he had looked through my window when my children were in they were mortified as any angry parent would do it is an invasion of privacy but it is ok when they get really cocky and snotty on the phone to u dont let them intimidate u


this cabot is doing illegal phone calling more or less every day. tx 3 time s week and sending letter so many times.my debt is more then 6 years old

Aug 24, 2016 by arif

this cabot is doing illegal phone calling more or less every day. tx 3 time s week and sending letter so many times.
my debt is more then 6 years old, it should be write off, if then why cabot doing this to me and with our family, its only 400 pouds debts.
please advice me on this matter.


I received numerous calls from Cabot about 8 months ago. I contacted them by e-mail to ask them what they wanted but they sent me a generic response a

Aug 12, 2016 by Karen

I received numerous calls from Cabot about 8 months ago. I contacted them by e-mail to ask them what they wanted but they sent me a generic response asking me to call them. I ignored this and heard nothing more. This week they are ringing me over and over again and leaving an automated voicemail. I've also received a text from them saying thanks for the payment - I have never made a payment to them! Presumably this is a ruse to get me to call them. I've never been in debt and I have no finance or credit cards. Surely if this is a legitimate matter they would respond to my request for info as to what they think I owe??? I'll be continuing to ignore them until they are able to tell me what they want me for!


I am frequently receiving telephone calls from Cabot. I have no debts and only had this telephone number for three months. How do I stop these calls?<

Aug 09, 2016 by R.Farquharson

I am frequently receiving telephone calls from Cabot. I have no debts and only had this telephone number for three months. How do I stop these calls?


They purchased 3 credit card debts we had and we agreed a very low monthly payment. Once agreed we pay on time and they usually only contact for a 6 m

Jul 08, 2016 by Customer123

They purchased 3 credit card debts we had and we agreed a very low monthly payment. Once agreed we pay on time and they usually only contact for a 6 monthly update of which there's no improvement to our situation. I have found them pleasant, not rude. I just wish I could find out how much they paid for our debts so I could make them an offer and hopefully I could see an end to it.


If you have a bill that you have not paid then it is your own fault. Cabot Financial have been very helpfull of my needs and have reduced my original

Jul 05, 2016 by Mrs Byrne

If you have a bill that you have not paid then it is your own fault. Cabot Financial have been very helpfull of my needs and have reduced my original bill by a third (£275.94 off), after putting my account on hold for 30 days to enable me to sort out the funds. They are professional helpfull and understanding of needs and finances. If you have an unpaid debt the only way around it is to pay it, trying to get around it is no better than stealing if you have had the goods/service


I am panicking as cabot have bought a debt and say I owe them money and now court.

Jun 26, 2016 by T

I am panicking as cabot have bought a debt and say I owe them money and now court.


cabot financial have been calling me for a few weeks..however I have security devise on my telephone and they can't get through unless I want then to.

Jun 21, 2016 by steffie123

cabot financial have been calling me for a few weeks..however I have security devise on my telephone and they can't get through unless I want then to. I have NEVER been in debt to anyone, and am not likely to be in the forseeable future. Why does this company keep trying to contact me? Does not deserve a star rating.


They bought 2 of my debts. Fools. Told them I will never ever pay them a penny and never did. I disappeared off the radar for 5 years. Phoning them of

Jun 15, 2016 by les

They bought 2 of my debts. Fools. Told them I will never ever pay them a penny and never did. I disappeared off the radar for 5 years. Phoning them often to taunt them. Lol. Then declared myself bankrupt. Phoned them to say I told you I would never ever pay you a penny! Scumbags


re: Nov 24, 2015 by Bobby124Poor grammar and spelling, but written by one of their semi-literate PR people by the look of it. Gotta larf . . .
Feb 03, 2016 by Mike O'

re: Nov 24, 2015 by Bobby124
Poor grammar and spelling, but written by one of their semi-literate PR people by the look of it. Gotta larf . . .


I have been trying to set up a repayment plan with these guys and they haven't acknowledged me once, when I ring they say someone will call me back, I

Jan 19, 2016 by Tracey

I have been trying to set up a repayment plan with these guys and they haven't acknowledged me once, when I ring they say someone will call me back, I have written they have not replied. It's been two months... I have even emailed. All I need is either a direct debit or standing order info, their one original letter says I can set up an affordable monthly repayment plan. How can I do that when all they're doing is ignoring me. If they are calling it's on a withheld number with no voicemail left. They even sold the account to their solicitor firm who when I contacted them. Were more than willing to set up a repayment plan. They were going to send me the ways to pay info instead I got a call saying Cabot had requested my file returned to them... So back go square one... I dont know what do do, I'm at the end of my tether.


They buy debt and Pretend from the original companies. I have been sent 2 ccj's via Mortimer Clarke Solicitors. Sent them CCA request together with 1

Jan 19, 2016 by NIl T

They buy debt and Pretend from the original companies. I have been sent 2 ccj's via Mortimer Clarke Solicitors. Sent them CCA request together with 1 pound postal order. They failed to provide documents. Solicitors will simply say 'we act as instructed by client' How can a firm of Solicitors just do what their client says? without any evidence??? No correspondence since 3 months now.
Cabot preys vulnerable's. Shame on them.


I started receiving letters from Cabot about 6 months ago, stating that I owed over £600 on an old credit card debt. I've asked them for proof that

Jan 16, 2016 by Fed up

I started receiving letters from Cabot about 6 months ago, stating that I owed over £600 on an old credit card debt. I've asked them for proof that this debt belonged to me, as I'm 100% sure it's not mine, and they promised they would send me one and put the account on hold until they proved the debt was mine. I've now found that, since Christmas, they've made a search against my credit report and registered it on my credit report, so now my credit rating has dropped. I've demanded an explanation from them, as well as proof that the debt is mine, but all they keep sending is letters demanding payment. They're a bunch of money grabbing cowboys!!!


These shower of trash bought one of my debts 5 yrs ago. I have not paid them a bean. So they have now bought one of my other debts. Talk about stupid.

Jan 10, 2016 by L jones

These shower of trash bought one of my debts 5 yrs ago. I have not paid them a bean. So they have now bought one of my other debts. Talk about stupid. If you're reading this Cabot then good luck in finding me. You will not get a penny. Hahaha


Pathetic company. I've avoided them for 5 years. They bought my debt from mbna. I've never paid them a penny and never will. They then go and buy anot

Jan 10, 2016 by L jones

Pathetic company. I've avoided them for 5 years. They bought my debt from mbna. I've never paid them a penny and never will. They then go and buy another one of my debts from capital one.
How stupid can a company be? Good luck finding me as I've changed my name lol


Cabot took my partner to court without our knowledge for a debt that he had never heard of. They placed a charge order against our house and refused t

Jan 09, 2016 by AJ

Cabot took my partner to court without our knowledge for a debt that he had never heard of. They placed a charge order against our house and refused to send us any paperwork saying that everything had been dealt with and basically there is nothing we can do except pay them. The debt is for thousands but because it has gone to court they have told us we now have to comply to them and pay it anyway. How is that fair?


Unless you enter into a tacit agreement by handing over your personal details to third party interlopers such as Cabot. You have no contract with them

Dec 18, 2015 by Adviser

Unless you enter into a tacit agreement by handing over your personal details to third party interlopers such as Cabot. You have no contract with them and cannot be forced into one. It is worth knowing that if they are claiming you owe "them" money you should demand to see the wet signature of the original contract between you and them along with any proof you owe them anything. In the meantime you can ask them if they purchased the debt from elsewhere? Then you simply state " I do not consent to giving you any of my personal information or for you to continue to harrass me constantly to extort money from me". You bought the debt therefore it cannot be possible you have the necessary proof that I owe your company anything and if you bought the debt then thank you very much and have a good day!!

If they continue to attempt contact and gain joinder through asking you to confirm who you are for data protection say no comment, I do not have to say anything to you, good bye.

If it has gone on for a long time then issue them a notice of removal of right of implied access and a fee schedule attached. Stating if you are contacted again they agree to be bound by tacit agreement to honour your fee schedule and then send them an invoice for say £1500.00 per attempt to harrass. See how long it takes before they get the message.. Good luck PEEPS.


I've had regular contact with Cabot for 5 years. There customer consultants as they call them are fantastic so understanding. I think if you borrowed

Nov 24, 2015 by Bobby124

I've had regular contact with Cabot for 5 years. There customer consultants as they call them are fantastic so understanding. I think if you borrowed the money you pay it. I think you all need to do you reading on when a debt is 'written off' and Cabot can do charging orders, attachment of earnings, send bay lifts. It will not be written off by talking to staff rudely. The more you talk with them the more willing they are to accept settlement options or help find ways for you to reduce your balance. If you owe the money you pay it or you face the Consequences of being made to sell your house or not being allowed to sell it also your employer to know just how much you owe. Also how embarrassing you can't repay money you owe. They are humans they do understand. Be nice and they will help they have helped me save over £25,000 yes that's right!! Just by me telling them everything they need to know.


This company is calling me multiple times a day and it's driving me insane! I have never been in debt and so they have no reason to be phoning me. I h

Nov 03, 2015 by Rachel

This company is calling me multiple times a day and it's driving me insane! I have never been in debt and so they have no reason to be phoning me. I have had no written correspondence from them. I don't even know if it is me they actually want as I refuse to speak to cold callers - I used to just reject the calls, but they keep coming so now I answer the call and leave it until they get bored and hang up. Why can't they take the hint and leave me alone?!?!?!


Myself & my partner keep getting cabot letters saying we've not made payment on a debt with shop direct, ive never heard of shop direct, found out the

Nov 02, 2015 by troubled 67

Myself & my partner keep getting cabot letters saying we've not made payment on a debt with shop direct, ive never heard of shop direct, found out they own a lot of mail order companied, I' have been fighting to make the payments on a debt management plan for over a year and this debt was not with Cabot at all, no letter from company stating they were moving the debt over but they don't seem to be listening, there trying to get payment made directly to them not via debt management.
HELP HOW CAN I GET THESE CREEPS OFF MY BACK.. GOT ISSUES WITH CSA HAS WELL BEING FIGHTING AN OVERPAYMENT SINCE 2003.. WE KNOW CONTACT WAS MADE TO INFORM OF MY PARTNER GETTING WORK .. CALL IS REGISTERED WITH THEM BUT NOT TAPED.. ( WHAT A SURPRISE) CAN I GET THIS WRITTEN OFF
THANKS VERY MUCH EVERYONE.


Had three letters from Lloyd bank debt. Had a major breakdown as debt is over 9 years old. Suffer with depression and telephone cabot I owe site load

Jul 27, 2015 by debt ridden

Had three letters from Lloyd bank debt. Had a major breakdown as debt is over 9 years old. Suffer with depression and telephone cabot I owe site loads of money and will never pay it back in my life time they were very understanding and non threatening. They will only communicate via letter due to my mental health and will accept what I can afford and that is sod all.


wrt to cabot, a few things to be aware of.....1 write to them, and MBNA , requesting a Data Access Request and enclosing a Postal Order for €6.35.

Jul 27, 2015 by Lemmy AFiver

wrt to cabot, a few things to be aware of.....
1 write to them, and MBNA , requesting a Data Access Request and enclosing a Postal Order for €6.35.Trust me, this is INFINITELY more annoying , and CHEAPER, than getting a solicitor involved .....Cabot's PO Box number 11151, Tallaght,Dublin 24 and mbna/avantcard PO Box 25, Carrick on Shannon, Co .Leitrim....
STARTto bully the Bullies....go to Ur local €1.50 shop and buy 50 envelopes for €1.50. Write the address of Cabot (or Lidl do a stamp which enables U to make up Ur own stamp, saving a LOT of time on wrting and either leave them blank, or cut up bits of paper, put them in the envelope a, seal them & pop them in the post box. Each envelope cabot receive costs them 70 cents............so if U send off all 50, that's€35 in postage that cabot have to pay.....and KEEP doing it.....I've cost mbna over €4,500 in postage since last may, and despite my case being under investigation by the FSOB, mbna/avantcard sold it on to cabot.......i'll be sending literally THOUSANDS of envelopes to cabot....and they'll have to pay for them, in addition to continuing to send envelopes to mbna /avantcunt too.....
They complained to the FSOB that they had received 'many 'envelopes from the Claimant, me, which were empty, so what I do now is....
take a blank page in MS Word write the question 'is this envelope empty?' and cram 4 'questions' on a line, then copy & paste them so U've got 200 onan A4 page...print it off ,then cut it up , enclosing each question in an envelope....at a cost to them of 70 cent....EACH....Its a 'game' Ur friends family, & kids can all play.......the main thing is that it costs them a FORTUNE in postal costs.....
can they PROVE it was you who sent them?trace that, ba$tards....and keep it up!!!
Lemmy AFiver


To all of those people who are calling in to question payments to Cabot should remember this, Cabot are essentially a debt purchasing company. They pa

Jul 15, 2015 by John

To all of those people who are calling in to question payments to Cabot should remember this, Cabot are essentially a debt purchasing company. They pay a pittance for debts that banks etc want to get rid of. They haven't committed any funds, they are responsible for ruining the lives of countless number of people by their incessant pressure, the profit from other peoples misfortune and don't deserve being paid because the accounts they buy have already been written off by the original lenders, they have to be or the original lenders would not be able to claim tax relief on their loss. Don't give in to Cabot..tell them to get lost!!


Just wanted to say a big F you to all the people moaning about us in debt. If your not in debt with this company then why are you here? Go away and sp

Jun 27, 2015 by in debt till i die

Just wanted to say a big F you to all the people moaning about us in debt. If your not in debt with this company then why are you here? Go away and spend your own riches while we spend/pay back other peoples.

Love you


I have had a letter to say they have bought my three year old debt from JACAMO. I have never used JACAMO, nor do I know anyone who has? I have complai

Jun 19, 2015 by MB

I have had a letter to say they have bought my three year old debt from JACAMO. I have never used JACAMO, nor do I know anyone who has? I have complained to Cabot but they are dragging their feet to resolve it. I am told I have to be patient ... yeh ... with a debt collection agency.


I have been bombarded with calls from Cabot. They request my first line of address and my dob and my postcode. YOUR SIMPLE answer is not to give your

Jun 17, 2015 by Steve Burns

I have been bombarded with calls from Cabot. They request my first line of address and my dob and my postcode. YOUR SIMPLE answer is not to give your personal details over the Phone for obviouse reasons. and data protection cant let Cabot move any further with the conversation. Simlpey ask for there details and they will not give you the above why because they are afraid too. Do not give personal details over the phone to any one. Please ask them to write to you with a break down and transactions of how the monies are owed and therir purchase date of the the debt purchased but do not give personal details over the phone to anyone. It is against the law for them to Harrase you . Please come back to me if you have found this helpful as I can be your next step forward if you are being harassed. Kind Regards Steve Burns.


Chasing my daughter for £650. which is identity theft. They have no paperwork or real evidence to back their demands. I've even asked for them to p

Jun 16, 2015 by David S

Chasing my daughter for £650. which is identity theft. They have no paperwork or real evidence to back their demands. I've even asked for them to provide proof and they have failed to do. They have made many mistakes and errors in their case. The best bit is when they suggested she prove it wasn't her debt .... magic. They insist she pays even though they can not prove the debt is hers. These people need to be stopped, they ignore the truth to secure payment. They are not worth a 1 star rating


9pm they rang me have all day to ring n decide 8.59 is a good time Get a proper job James wi decent hours

Jun 15, 2015 by claire

9pm they rang me have all day to ring n decide 8.59 is a good time
Get a proper job James wi decent hours


cabot use underhand tactics, to recall money they bought for another lender.car,loan,cc what ever the case maybe, I'm been chased for my daughters deb

Jun 15, 2015 by sharron

cabot use underhand tactics, to recall money they bought for another lender.car,loan,cc what ever the case maybe, I'm been chased for my daughters debt. which started in her name now became mine, total bill (£97) now £277 they put a ccj on my credit file and sent bailiffs to my door which is extremely distressing. they insist the debt is mine won't listen to what I have to say and the northampton court is worked by electronic mail they pay barely any charges for the use of the service and don't pay charges if the person they accuse of owing money is taken to court by the way I clicked 1 star because it wouldn't let me move on until i did so


First time I've heard of these people. I received a phone call today [4 June 2015] asking about someone we know. Where does he live, phone number, m

Jun 04, 2015 by jayeskaycee

First time I've heard of these people. I received a phone call today [4 June 2015] asking about someone we know. Where does he live, phone number, mobile etc? I gave no information because neither would the man on the other end of the line - he was called 'Lee'. He wouldn't give me a phone number or address to pass to the person I know, said his manager would 'kill him'. I thought that was rather underhand, wanting info but not giving it out so no info went to him. Don't know why they wanted our friend but can guess judging by the comments here so I'd better get in touch and let him know this crew is after him then it's up to him to do whatever he needs but without our involvement!


First of all, please remember that you give this company 1* if you really dislike the company, 5* if you really like them. Some on here seem to get i

May 31, 2015 by AnonAnonAnon

First of all, please remember that you give this company 1* if you really dislike the company, 5* if you really like them. Some on here seem to get it wrong! Also, use punctuation and paragraphs so that people reading your post know what you are talking about.

Anyway, Cabot....they have been writing to me for years. Before them it was others, from an unpaid student overdraft 17 years ago. The amount "owed" has now quadrupled... but I have never replied in all that time. This has followed me across the decades, different countries and many addresses.

I now know how they do it: not from electoral roles, but from the credit reference agencies like Equifax. Equifax etc al get it from your bank. Questionable companies like Cobalt can credit score you at any time, despite assurances that this can only be done with your consent. I know, as I saw the searches on my Equifax report recently.

But I also saw that I am home-free and probably have been for a long time, maybe a decade. No CCJs, no defaults. Even gave an "excellent" rating after years of worry.

Now I also know why the letters last year were almost begging letters, each one more desperate. The last offered absolution if I paid just 10% of their inflated figure. But recently, they've started up again as they know I am in better financial condition. Yes, I could pay them, but there's more chance of my hair spontaneously growing back than that happening!

It's simple: if it is really old debt (over 6 years and statute barred), they don't have a chance and are trying it on. I feel CAB give bad advice to pay them even a pound a month, as it acknowledges the debt and restarts activity.

My advice: ignore the letters and be very guarded when strangers call on the phone. Block them on your mobile (add to "reject list" on Android). Don't let anyone own you

That is all.


First of all, please remember that you give this company 1* if you really dislike the company, 5* if you really like them. Some on here seem to get i

May 31, 2015 by AnonAnonAnon

First of all, please remember that you give this company 1* if you really dislike the company, 5* if you really like them. Some on here seem to get it wrong! Also, use punctuation and paragraphs so that people reading your post know what you are talking about.

Anyway, Cabot....they have been writing to me for years. Before them it was others, from an unpaid student overdraft 17 years ago. The amount "owed" has now quadrupled... but I have never replied in all that time. This has followed me across the decades, different countries and many addresses.

I now know how they do it: not from electoral roles, but from the credit reference agencies like Equifax. Equifax etc al get it from your bank. Questionable companies like Cobalt can credit score you at any time, despite assurances that this can only be done with your consent. I know, as I saw the searches on my Equifax report recently.

But I also saw that I am home-free and probably have been for a long time, maybe a decade. No CCJs, no defaults. Even gave an "excellent" rating after years of worry.

Now I also know why the letters last year were almost begging letters, each one more desperate. The last offered absolution if I paid just 10% of their inflated figure. But recently, they've started up again as they know I am in better financial condition. Yes, I could pay them, but there's more chance of my hair spontaneously growing back than that happening!

It's simple: if it is really old debt (over 6 years and statute barred), they don't have a chance and are trying it on. I feel CAB give bad advice to pay them even a pound a month, as it acknowledges the debt and restarts activity.

My advice: ignore the letters and be very guarded when strangers call on the phone. Block them on your mobile (add to "reject list" on Android). Don't let anyone own you

That is all.


What a shower. A £500 debt from over 15yrs ago!!!!! i called them and thenguy on the end of the phone told ME they took the debt over in 2000 and f

May 21, 2015 by anon

What a shower. A £500 debt from over 15yrs ago!!!!!
i called them and thenguy on the end of the phone told ME they took the debt over in 2000 and forgot....yes FORGOT to inform me.
as you all know if no contact has been made for 6 years you can tell them to go away which i did.
any further.contact is illegal and can be deemed as harrassment.
so if u have never been contacted about a debt in over 6 years then stop worrying.
also remember one thing a debt is bought by them for as little as £10 so make them an offer.....u never know.


this is a company that I have never even heard off before in my life and it doesn't even come past me how they got my information when I rang them to

Apr 28, 2015 by amber

this is a company that I have never even heard off before in my life and it doesn't even come past me how they got my information when I rang them to see they wouldn't tell me how they got my contact number or my name and they was wanting my d.o.b I am not happy about this atall.


How can Cabot claim money from anyone? they bought the debt from a pool then expect people to pay them the money back.Once they bought the debt,,, t

Apr 20, 2015 by Ray

How can Cabot claim money from anyone? they bought the debt from a pool then expect people to pay them the money back.
Once they bought the debt,,, they now own the debt,
You have not signed any contracts with Cabot, so you do not owe Cabot anything at all.
How do they think that they can claim money from persons unknown who have not had any purchases or services etc from them?
Send them a letter demanding a "PROOF OF CLAIM" I would be extremely surprised if they have one.
These companys are third party interlopers, you do not owe money to them, and they cannot claim money from you without a written contract signed by both parties.
If they can not show proof that you owe them money, it is illegal to claim from you.
Hope this helps.
Ray


Chasing me for a debt from 2009. I went bankrupt in 2009, the debt was in the bankruptcy. I have sent them the evidence 3 times. Each time they told m

Mar 28, 2015 by Dave

Chasing me for a debt from 2009. I went bankrupt in 2009, the debt was in the bankruptcy. I have sent them the evidence 3 times. Each time they told me that would be the end of it. They are still chasing me for the dame debt and this is affecting my credit rating.


I have worked as a "collections negotiator" for some time now and have no pride in he job and face a constant moral battle with myself each day at wor

Mar 28, 2015 by Lamont25

I have worked as a "collections negotiator" for some time now and have no pride in he job and face a constant moral battle with myself each day at work. I definitely think the government need to regulate debt collection in house rather than relying on institutions such as the fca. Unless complaints are brought the regulator won't know how the company acts.

The only reason 90% of us work in this field is because we need the money even though it is a pittance for the amount of calls we make. It is not our own personal intention to cause hardship to families but more often than not it is or clients requests that determine are actions. If we failed to do this then we wouldn't have a job and therefore would be unemployed. It's a ruthless profession and one I will never undertake again once I finish up my notice this week.


always go to court if you get a summons,these debt collectors love it when you don't go they gain judgement by default so go to court but make them pr

Mar 15, 2015 by Always go to court

always go to court if you get a summons,these debt collectors love it when you don't go they gain judgement by default so go to court but make them prove the debt because if you don't recollect the debt !!!
They turn up with no contract no assignment contract it is easy to defend most of time they don't turn up.(written submissions)


cabot are very hard work,didn't get anywhere till I contacted f.o.s now they are listening am waiting on outcome now from them been offered £150 told

Mar 15, 2015 by cabot clowns

cabot are very hard work,didn't get anywhere till I contacted f.o.s now they are listening am waiting on outcome now from them been offered £150 told them to stick it,if f.o.s don't make good enough offer small claims court I'll go.please do your research on these debt collectors they really are blaggers.


Hey all, guess what I know. Cabot buy these debts for nothing, a £7200 debt costs them 72p to buy as it has already been written off. Cabot are just

Mar 14, 2015 by Carlos

Hey all, guess what I know. Cabot buy these debts for nothing, a £7200 debt costs them 72p to buy as it has already been written off. Cabot are just making up new debt, its all lies. Insurance companies already have written your debt off. Be warned.


sent forms for norhampton county court by cabot seeking ccj.are they for real or should i just bin them ?

Mar 05, 2015 by mark r

sent forms for norhampton county court by cabot seeking ccj.are they for real or should i just bin them ?


Only found out it was cabot as I keep getting phone calls from an 0800 number(internet search). They never leave a message on answering machine & hang

Mar 03, 2015 by Andy

Only found out it was cabot as I keep getting phone calls from an 0800 number(internet search). They never leave a message on answering machine & hang up if I answer call. As they seem not willing to speak their number has gone on my call blocker !


I have received a notice intending to take me to Northampton CC if i do not pay £284.81 by Weightmans acting on behalf of Cabot, now i admit i owed

Feb 11, 2015 by Christine

I have received a notice intending to take me to Northampton CC if i do not pay £284.81 by Weightmans acting on behalf of Cabot, now i admit i owed this, but it was taken out in 2007 and after 6 yrs thought it would be statue barred, but this debt has been around other debt collectors before Cabot bought it, now on the notice they have charged me £50 court costs and £25 solicitors cost and it hasn't even been to court yet if i admit my debt, that works out i now owe £359.81 and i am on state pension, this debt was taken out when i was working, and i have been retired 6 years now, my wages where low and i got in a mess with my credit card, what i am asking anyone is have they had this notice of intention to take you to court and is it for real, i have not known this before with debt collectors, they just harrass you up to limit, so i just ignored them and this is what happend...i have wrote to this Weightmans because i don't want a county court judgment against me, i am wondering if they are trying it on, and doing me out of some money.


I have a bailiff threatening me with imprisonment if I do not attend a county court hearing by a certain date also with an attachment of earnings form

Feb 09, 2015 by brian

I have a bailiff threatening me with imprisonment if I do not attend a county court hearing by a certain date also with an attachment of earnings form , all on behalf of Cabot financial...... is this legal????


If you borrow £20000 from someone they expect that to pay it back. All you people complaining after spending all that money on whatever. Quite weak u

Feb 06, 2015 by Malcolm

If you borrow £20000 from someone they expect that to pay it back. All you people complaining after spending all that money on whatever. Quite weak un credible personalities really aren't you.


Cabot chasing me for £60000+ yes that figure is correct written to financial ombudsman all of a sudden they written it all off now waiting to see wha

Feb 05, 2015 by Ill never pay

Cabot chasing me for £60000+ yes that figure is correct written to financial ombudsman all of a sudden they written it all off now waiting to see what fos will do about it if I'm not happy I'll take them to small claims court ,there just parasites


All these people making excuses for overspending and now don't want to pay are simply thieves.

Jan 29, 2015 by Alfred

All these people making excuses for overspending and now don't want to pay are simply thieves.


Basically it's very simple. People have overcommitted and not lived in their means and that in itself is irresponsible behaviour. Further you don't wi

Jan 29, 2015 by Alfred

Basically it's very simple. People have overcommitted and not lived in their means and that in itself is irresponsible behaviour. Further you don't wish to take the responsibility of paying money you owe back. That is disgusting. You may as well have stolen the money. I am in debt due to ill health I owe £398..00 I owe it simple- if your honest and willing to take responsibility the rest is all excuses and cowardice with all this abuse to people you owe money to as simply a false psychological hiding place. Grow up take responsibility stop making excuses for overspending out of your means and take control you MORONS!!!!


They call me 4 times a day I have never had a letter from them and they won't tell me who they are until I provide my personnel details which I won't

Jan 28, 2015 by Chels

They call me 4 times a day I have never had a letter from them and they won't tell me who they are until I provide my personnel details which I won't do for security reasons so if they read this write to us first I'm not calling you back they are a pain and driving me insane I managed to answer a call and they asked for me then hung up


I have just recieved a letter offering me to make a one off payment of £104.90 and write a debt of o£1000.49 further reading stated it was for a l

Jan 20, 2015 by Angela

I have just recieved a letter offering me to make a one off payment of £104.90 and write a debt of o£1000.49 further reading stated it was for a loan with Barclays Bank who have never banked with or had a loan from??? Can anyone please advise or help ?


Cabot financial have been sending my letter for a lodger, that hasn't lived with me for years, I called them to explain this but letter kept coming, I

Dec 20, 2014 by Susan lawrence

Cabot financial have been sending my letter for a lodger, that hasn't lived with me for years, I called them to explain this but letter kept coming, I now have a CCJ registered to my address, and I'm expecting the bailiffs round now before Christmas, thanks for listening every time I call.


yesterday we received three telephone calls from this company asking to speak to a certain person.One at 8am, one at 2pm,then another at 7-30pm.we ex

Dec 05, 2014 by malcolm

yesterday we received three telephone calls from this company asking to speak to a certain person.One at 8am, one at 2pm,then another at 7-30pm.we explained that this person did not live at this address each time and we did not know of this person.finally i phoned the company and told them to stop phoneing our house,we have lived here 38 years.we were promised that they would delete our number and would not be bothered again .lets hope so.


got a letter from them today saying they carnt take me to court and get a ccj against me,so they have given up on collection.ah ah I won they said in

Dec 01, 2014 by sam

got a letter from them today saying they carnt take me to court and get a ccj against me,so they have given up on collection.ah ah I won they said in there letter that my credit agreement is unenforceable,which means we are not permitted to obtain a judgement or decree against me in court,f*** off Lloyds £5000 in my favour


Just one star for there ability to wind you up. They have two of my old accounts and one with Marlin which is there other side of collections.They n

Nov 25, 2014 by mark

Just one star for there ability to wind you up. They have two of my old accounts and one with Marlin which is there other side of collections.
They now have instructed Reston's solicitors which are very bad and have applied for judgement and a charging order, Yelp! on our home we have been paying an arrangement but this does not seem to make any odds what so ever so be warned! they only bought this a few months ago (Talk about guns blazing) on my debts these were from bad times like hospital for cancer and unenployment twice in 3 years.this makes no difference they would even turn up at my funeral i'm sure ..


Cabot Financial now pass unpaid debts, to wright hassall solicitors. even if you have not had any contact with them they just pass it on to them

Nov 17, 2014 by wayne

Cabot Financial now pass unpaid debts, to wright hassall solicitors.
even if you have not had any contact with them they just pass it on to
them and then Thay register a county court judgment agains you.


They got my address in Wiltshire but today visited my 80 yr old mother just because yrs ago I opened my bank account from there while was looking afte

Nov 07, 2014 by gerry parmenter

They got my address in Wiltshire but today visited my 80 yr old mother just because yrs ago I opened my bank account from there while was looking after her not on cabolt my debts in hands of citizen advice to be written off in court leave the sick elderly alone


Peter, with your background, have you only just cottoned on to the fact that this firm (in common with all others of its ilk) is a bunch of shysters,

Nov 06, 2014 by Tony

Peter, with your background, have you only just cottoned on to the fact that this firm (in common with all others of its ilk) is a bunch of shysters, crooks and liars who always skate on legal thin ice, to trap the unwary and make themselves a fast buck?


Unsolicited phone call, someone asking if a neighbour still living at address near to my home.Caller just asked question, no introductory remarks or i

Nov 06, 2014 by Peter

Unsolicited phone call, someone asking if a neighbour still living at address near to my home.Caller just asked question, no introductory remarks or introduction. I was suspicious so "1471"d and got throught to another person, who explained that call was from Cabot Financial in Kent in response to my question about who was calling. I am a retired regulatory services professional, suspicious of any unsolicited calls, someone naïve could easily have given initial caller information about ex neighbour .


They buy your debt for £200.00They charge you £2000.00. A CCJ is the same as a default. So, if you already have a default, don't pay them any

Nov 06, 2014 by Ken Stannard

They buy your debt for £200.00
They charge you £2000.00.

A CCJ is the same as a default. So, if you already have a default, don't pay them anything. Its of no benefit to you. Get a pay as you go mobile Sim for £2. Give Cabot that number and tell them never to call your other number. Job done. 6 years later they can't harass you anymore.


Jules- copy and paste the link below, read it and register a complaint. It is free and you will be entitled to be given compensation for wrongful har

Nov 04, 2014 by Tony

Jules- copy and paste the link below, read it and register a complaint. It is free and you will be entitled to be given compensation for wrongful harassment. Plus the idiots will go running back down whatever hole they crawled out of..... Simon, try simply writing \"Not known at this address\" on the letters (identify them by the return address on the back) and put them back in the postbox. They write a set sequence of letters after which they cut their losses and give up. However if they do not stop you can go to the Ombudsman too.

http://www.financial-ombudsman.org.uk/publications/technical_notes/debtcollecting-note.html#8


I am constantly called by this company, asking for someone I have never heard of, has no connection to me or where I live. I keep telling them they ha

Nov 03, 2014 by julesf

I am constantly called by this company, asking for someone I have never heard of, has no connection to me or where I live. I keep telling them they have the wrong number but they don't take that as an answer and keep calling. How do I stop them, it's becoming a nuisance and I class this as harassment.


i am a tenant in a flat ln north London for nearly 12 years and now they send me post that some one at this address owes them money i have no idea who

Nov 02, 2014 by simon grant

i am a tenant in a flat ln north London for nearly 12 years and now they send me post that some one at this address owes them money i have no idea who they want please stop now there ref number is 3048932


Massey, and while I have your attention-If you are a person who has never borrowed anything, never run up a debt, and always pay your way- why on e

Oct 17, 2014 by Tony

Massey, and while I have your attention-

If you are a person who has never borrowed anything, never run up a debt, and always pay your way- why on earth would you seek out and want to contribute to a blog about debt collecting?

Nice try, Cabot.


When you described the debt collectors as "hard working people" you told us everything we needed to know about how genuine you are, Massey. Or how no

Oct 17, 2014 by Tony

When you described the debt collectors as "hard working people" you told us everything we needed to know about how genuine you are, Massey. Or how not genuine.

I call debt collectors parasites because they never lent anyone a penny, but expect people (who are almost always in debt through no fault of their own) to repay all the money to THEM instead of to the creditor.

When they collect a debt ON BEHALF OF the creditor, and pass the money on, less their commission, then they are not parasites. But that is relatively rare.

So if you think I'm a parasite- I really don't care. The real bad guys are the banks who caused the whole crash through their greed and stupidity- but THOSE parasites got bailed out by the banks to the tune of £100 BILLION. By you and I- the taxpayer. Are you happy with paying your taxes to help out the City fat cats, Massey?


Like Roseleen, I have recently been contacted about a debt that has never been owed. A previous company (Robinson Way) contacted me in 2007 about the

Oct 17, 2014 by Andrew

Like Roseleen, I have recently been contacted about a debt that has never been owed. A previous company (Robinson Way) contacted me in 2007 about the same debt, apparently a car loan. It then changed to Equidebt and a "catalogue debt" and this time around it's Cabot and "credit card debt". No-one has ever provided evidence that I owe any money, or when this money was borrowed, so I took the CAB's advice and simply ignore.


Hi Tony Surely you are the parasite for not wanting to repay money you have already spent and obviously cannot afford to pay back. What makes you thi

Oct 16, 2014 by Massey

Hi Tony
Surely you are the parasite for not wanting to repay money you have already spent and obviously cannot afford to pay back. What makes you think it is right not to pay back money you owe. People like you make me sick if you can\'t afford it don\'t have it ,don\'t blame the people who are trying to recover money do have spent and obviously don\'t have. Get real run up a debt pay the price don\'t blame every one else but yourself. And no I am not a spoof for the company just someone who always pays my way,don\'t have what I cant afford and don\'t run up debt. Maybe you should try it instead of trying to blame everyone else for your debts and calling hard working people parasites.


This bunch wrote to me today demanding payment for a debt that isn't and has never been owed! The bank account quoted isn't mine - they've even used

Oct 13, 2014 by Roseleen

This bunch wrote to me today demanding payment for a debt that isn't and has never been owed! The bank account quoted isn't mine - they've even used my maiden name - I've been married over 24 years!


Well done Rosie, nice to hear the man was kind and understanding, not surprising really as every penny of what you pay, goes, not to pay back whoever

Oct 08, 2014 by Tony

Well done Rosie, nice to hear the man was kind and understanding, not surprising really as every penny of what you pay, goes, not to pay back whoever lent you the money, but straight into the coffers of this parasitic company. If you are OK with that then fine. But don't go on about "moral obligations", because you are giving your money to an out and out parasite. Do you actually realise that?

Hey why am I bothering to reply. You are almost certainly a spoof poster posting on behalf of the company. Satisfied people don't actually go to all the trouble to google complaint forums so that they can give the company a glowing review.


At the end of the day you all sit here and moan about a company chasing you for money you OWE. if you lent someone (for example) £17,000, or even £

Oct 06, 2014 by rosie

At the end of the day you all sit here and moan about a company chasing you for money you OWE. if you lent someone (for example) £17,000, or even £100 would you really be happy with them not paying you back or paying £1 pm. the industry has completely changed to a few years back and what you have to respect is it is just another human at the end of the phone, if you explain the situation ( as i did) they are extremely understanding. statue barred only means the debt is no longer legally enforceable, you still have a moral obligation to pay back money you have had. its something i feel very strongly about as people go on about the recession and so forth yet if everyone paid back the money they owed it would make improvements.my final opinion is i spoke to them and explained my situation fully, and the man was very kind and understanding, advised me not to worry and feel a lot more satisfied.


Just to clarify, once the clock has ticked over those six years it can never be restarted. It can only be restarted if you make a payment, or written

Sep 25, 2014 by Tony

Just to clarify, once the clock has ticked over those six years it can never be restarted. It can only be restarted if you make a payment, or written acknowledgment of the debt, less than six years down the line. These lying pr*cks are just trying it on in the belief that you don't know the law. Great team, those Spurs of '61!

Response: Yep - that\'s a very important point Tony that people often miss. Once a debt is statute barred it can\'t become unbarred by making a payment.


Good advice from Robbie, except to say that once a debt has become statute barred (which Spurs' certainly has) it cannot be revived if you make a paym

Sep 25, 2014 by Tony

Good advice from Robbie, except to say that once a debt has become statute barred (which Spurs' certainly has) it cannot be revived if you make a payment. It is dead, full stop. So echo the advice- ignore. Then ignore some more.....


If your debt is older than six years and you have had no written or telephone contact then the debt is statute barred. Do not offer to accept any paym

Sep 25, 2014 by Robbie Keane

If your debt is older than six years and you have had no written or telephone contact then the debt is statute barred. Do not offer to accept any payment plan as the clock restarts and you become liable. Ignore and then tell them about the statute act and they will go away!


They contacted me after 8 years of silence on a small debt which they have reduced by 70% in order to re-start the clock under the Statute of Debt Lim

Sep 25, 2014 by Spurs 1961

They contacted me after 8 years of silence on a small debt which they have reduced by 70% in order to re-start the clock under the Statute of Debt Limitations Act. I have told them not to contact me again as the debt is statute barred, which means that if you have had no contact from them for at least six years, they cannot recover the debt. If you accept a payment plan, then the clock re-starts on liability so best to ignore and write a curt letter which is available on the National Debt Line telling them where to go!!!.


If only you were right, Mary! Sadly, it is perfectly legal for a creditor to sell (assign is the proper term) a liquidated debt to a third party. Th

Sep 25, 2014 by Tony

If only you were right, Mary! Sadly, it is perfectly legal for a creditor to sell (assign is the proper term) a liquidated debt to a third party. That third party is then entitled to enforce the original creditor\'s claim in its own name. You can argue that it ought not to be legal- but it is. And challenging on the basis you suggest is doomed to failure. A far better approach is to totally ignore all approaches by the debt collector. They do not take anything to court unless they have managed to engage with you and establish that it would be worth their while to do so; as in many cases debtors have died/moved/emigrated/gone bankrupt, in which cases taking out court claims will be money down the drain. So don\'t talk to them. I didn\'t, and all my debts (which totaled £120,000) have all gone Statute Barred without a single case having been brought in court.


is it legal for one party to make financial arrangements with a second party on behalf of a third party ( myself ) ,without my knowledge or agreement

Sep 23, 2014 by Mary

is it legal for one party to make financial arrangements with a second party on behalf of a third party ( myself ) ,without my knowledge or agreement ?, I think not ,if so this whole debt buying thing that this company is doing is totally illegal


what telephone numbers do they use? If I know what they are I can block them on the mobile.

Sep 18, 2014 by bill withers

what telephone numbers do they use? If I know what they are I can block them on the mobile.


They're phoning my work # now - is there no peace - wish I could afford to sue for harassment.

Sep 11, 2014 by harassed

They're phoning my work # now - is there no peace - wish I could afford to sue for harassment.


Just had a CCJ from Northampton County Court in favour of Cabot. Address on the judgement doesn't match Northampton CC website. Is this a fake, beca

Sep 08, 2014 by Glenn

Just had a CCJ from Northampton County Court in favour of Cabot. Address on the judgement doesn't match Northampton CC website. Is this a fake, because it feels like it.


Makes me laugh. I have ad numerous letter about a loan dating back to 2003. I told them everything and even offered a monthly payment. This was in Feb

Sep 05, 2014 by dan

Makes me laugh. I have ad numerous letter about a loan dating back to 2003. I told them everything and even offered a monthly payment. This was in Feb haha. Said they would look in to it and I'm still waiting to hear back. I've now threatened to get my own solicitor and they still won't answer me. They are a joke and to anyone who gets threats from them tell them to sod off. Idiots what they are. I was sick of worrying but they are useless


I know how you feel Terence. Phone calls day in day out. Why do they not get it into their no brains, nobody is going to speak to them. What do they w

Aug 30, 2014 by charlie

I know how you feel Terence. Phone calls day in day out. Why do they not get it into their no brains, nobody is going to speak to them. What do they want! blood. Maybe I should send them some. On the other hand that may excite them though. Damn nuisances. They are a pain in the bottom. You must not let them get to you. You must remember that you are better than them. Do not let them win.


Cabot financial keep calling me, I do not answer. I am sending them £1.00/month as agreed with the c.a.b. I am disabled and only have a certain amoun

Aug 27, 2014 by Charlie

Cabot financial keep calling me, I do not answer. I am sending them £1.00/month as agreed with the c.a.b. I am disabled and only have a certain amount of money coming in to pay all bills, electric, bottle gas, water, etc.,etc. They know all this but continue to ring and send letters. I feel that this is harassment, but what can I do. I will NOT speak to them after reading other posts. Debt amount £2500 which was initially with Lloyds bank they passed debt to Cabot. What should I do just can not afford anymore. They are worrying me so much.


I'm in an arrangement but they keep calling my mobile on an 0845 number, never leave a message to say why. I'm not going to call back at extortionate

Aug 08, 2014 by DrenWD

I'm in an arrangement but they keep calling my mobile on an 0845 number, never leave a message to say why. I'm not going to call back at extortionate rates. They sent me letters offering to write off part of the debt for early resettlement. I ignore them because I don't have the money to do that! I'm guessing the call is for the same purpose. I wish they would just leave me alone as long as I am complying with our agreement!


Lovely people,they phone me everyday asking how and who i am and if i would confirm my date of birth. As soon as i ask who am i speaking to and ask th

Jul 31, 2014 by Love bug

Lovely people,they phone me everyday asking how and who i am and if i would confirm my date of birth. As soon as i ask who am i speaking to and ask them their date of birth, i get sorry sir i cant give that information out so i just repeat the same back lol........one doesn\'t give ones personal details out to any tom cabot or harry now does one 🙂 !!


Just received claim form /county court business. It is for a debt that I was aware had been paid through debt agency. Seems very official but question

Jul 17, 2014 by Julie

Just received claim form /county court business. It is for a debt that I was aware had been paid through debt agency. Seems very official but questionable after looking at other forums it is my maiden name and not sure how they have now got my address any advice as don't want to ring them not sure whether I should write back to them


Unenforceable, then. The first thing they would have to prove is that you are the person who took out the agreement and that is plainly impossible fr

Jun 23, 2014 by no

Unenforceable, then. The first thing they would have to prove is that you are the person who took out the agreement and that is plainly impossible from what you say. Just ignore them from here on, you will get all sorts of lurid threats after which they will realise it is a head/brick wall scenario and go away.


Hi Can someone give me some advice? I am being chased by Cabot for a credit card taken out in my name but with the wrong date of birth. Is this debt e

Jun 20, 2014 by Paul Grant

Hi Can someone give me some advice? I am being chased by Cabot for a credit card taken out in my name but with the wrong date of birth. Is this debt enforceable? Have asked for proof of credit agreement but they say it was taken out electronically


No stars for this company. Plenty of threats though. They are chasing a debt from June 2000 I serviced this debt with EQL and finished paying just bef

Jun 17, 2014 by terence

No stars for this company. Plenty of threats though. They are chasing a debt from June 2000 I serviced this debt with EQL and finished paying just before EQL went bust. Somehow they must have got access to some of EQL's info. I have had letters and phone calls from them to my address in different names. I am sick and tired of the constant hassle and worry, so much so that I am seriously thinking of suicide just to get some peace and quiet.


Cabot have chased me for two debts which I was paying quite happily with another company. On both occasions I queried the amount transferred to Cabot

Jun 16, 2014 by Linda

Cabot have chased me for two debts which I was paying quite happily with another company. On both occasions I queried the amount transferred to Cabot . It was not the same as the original company stated on both occasions. If you receive a letter from Cabot re a transfer contact the original company to check the balance as Cabot appear to be putting additional money onto the debt straight away which is not legal Only tick one star because I had to tick something


ive recieved a letter from them for an alleged credit card issue from 2008. no idea who they are but v threatening tone to letter any advise would be

May 27, 2014 by helen

ive recieved a letter from them for an alleged credit card issue from 2008. no idea who they are but v threatening tone to letter any advise would be useful


Public decency would stop me telling people what i really think of Cabot, so i will just go with f**king *********** who will get caught out one da

Apr 10, 2014 by NorfolkNman

Public decency would stop me telling people what i really think of Cabot, so i will just go with f**king *********** who will get caught out one day. Harassment laws are in place for s**t like these, and i intend to use them to the best i can!

Response: Sorry - I had to edit that even further!


They are the most loathsome, parasitic company that exists.I wonder when people who work for them discuss their jobs with wives/husbands/children

Apr 08, 2014 by Mel haigh

They are the most loathsome, parasitic company that exists.

I wonder when people who work for them discuss their jobs with wives/husbands/children they feel proud of what they do, I wonder if they feel ashamed, I would.

Generally, they are profiting from others mis-fortunes, their sort of company should be banned and their claim that they treat people with empathy should be taken as the joke it surely is intended to be.

No stars, don't let them bully you, they will try fight back.


Cabot Financial are harrassing me for a debt that does not exist.They bought the debt from a company which accepted that no payment was due, but the

Apr 05, 2014 by RoberttheDevonian

Cabot Financial are harrassing me for a debt that does not exist.
They bought the debt from a company which accepted that no payment was due, but they bundled it in with others to make a fast buck.
They are untrustworthy and generally known as liars.


The Cabot Financial, is welcome to keep calling me!It makes me feel good to be important, nobody else call me.

Apr 02, 2014 by Edmond Sterling

The Cabot Financial, is welcome to keep calling me!
It makes me feel good to be important, nobody else call me.


Net Consumers , USA 2.1 5.0 94 94 Cabot Finance bought my debt and have been paying 7 pounds a month like a idiot... They keep sending reduced amount to clear..but surely my debt is over seven years old and is no