About Mackenzie Hall

 

Mackenzie Hall are definitely an interesting company to deal with. As the previous owner of a debt management company who got out of the business because he was sick of it, I can say that I’ve had LOTS of dealings with Mackenzie Hall over the years!

First thing first, Mackenzie Hall are specialists at unenforceable statute barred debts. So if they’re contacting you that means there is a reasonable chance that you don’t even owe any debt legally. If you’ve not made a payment on a debt in 6 years then in most cases you no longer legally owe it. So do not give a penny to Mackenzie Hall until you’re sure that you definitely owe any money. If you do pay, then that starts the 6 year clock ticking again, so be very careful. DO NOT be tricked into paying a token payment of even a pound, as that is a common trick used by debt collectors in these situations. SERIOUSLY!

There are many solutions to dealing with debts which our IVA guide and Debt Management guide explain, but the first thing to do is to be sure that you actually even owe these debts legally. In some cases you won’t, but do you think companies like Mackenzie Hall could care less? Of course not!

I would strongly advise writing to Mackenzie Hall and asking them for proof of their claim against you, and informing them that you will not be making any payments until and unless they can provide this proof. In many cases you’ll find that debt collectors can’t prove anything, and even if they can, then you’ve bought yourself some extra time to deal with the problem.

In my years dealing with debt management clients and negotiating with debt collection companies I certainly got a good feel for which ones were decent and followed OFT debt collection guidelines and which ones didn’t. Of all the debt collectors I felt that Mackenzie Hall were the worst, and trust me, in my old job – I dealt with them all. So, please tread VERY carefully if you’re dealing with them. The words bottom and barrel come to mind.

While you are here on the Net Consumers site I’d really appreciate if you could write about your experiences with Mackenzie Hall below. All you need to do is add a review, and it will REALLY help others who are in a similar position if as many people as possible share their experiences. The more info we share on these people, the better!

Mackenzie Hall Info

Unknown
 0844 801 9617
 5 Logie Mill Beaverbank Office Park, Logie Green Road, Edinburgh, EH7 4HH
Mackenzie Hall are a debt collection company.

 

Why not let us know how you feel about Mackenzie Hall, good or bad?

Let us know, you’ll feel better for it!

Click HERE to Write a Review


Submit your review
* Required Field

Constant harassment! Calls 8-10 times a day!! won't put anything in writing!! How do we stop this???

Jan 05, 2016 by Woodgang

Constant harassment! Calls 8-10 times a day!! won't put anything in writing!! How do we stop this???


Register the previous occupier to the mailing preferences servie at mpsonline.org.uk then send mail to their freepost address and they will make it st

Oct 10, 2015 by Whatever

Register the previous occupier to the mailing preferences servie at mpsonline.org.uk then send mail to their freepost address and they will make it stop


Just read below that they have changed name to practice group....I had a debt paid final settlement to mack hall and they sold the difference to pra.

Aug 27, 2015 by lho

Just read below that they have changed name to practice group....I had a debt paid final settlement to mack hall and they sold the difference to pra. I get up to 6 calls a day from different numbers all being PRA.


MH or PRA Group as they are now, deal in tertiary debt. This is debt they cannot trace or is time barred. Often it is both. We got contacted about

Jul 29, 2015 by RossB

MH or PRA Group as they are now, deal in tertiary debt. This is debt they cannot trace or is time barred. Often it is both.

We got contacted about a debt with British Gas. Even British Gas couldn't find the debt. Very likely that it belonged to a tenant in 2007.

You tell them to prove it and to stop calling, they answer that they will persist. They know that you won't go through with threats of calling the police, the FCA or whoever, so they will continue.

There are ways to deal with scum like this, but you may need to dig into your pocket to start proceedings.


They are parasitic cnuts. I would quite happily shit through the letterbox of any sad twat who worked for them.

Jun 11, 2015 by Andy pansy

They are parasitic cnuts. I would quite happily shit through the letterbox of any sad twat who worked for them.


I have been contacted by them and guess i should have looked on here first cause a debt charity told me to pay a pound of a debtfrom when i was 18 tha

Jun 03, 2015 by joe blogs

I have been contacted by them and guess i should have looked on here first cause a debt charity told me to pay a pound of a debtfrom when i was 18 that was the companies fault and felt it was not valid. I moved to 6 addresses since i was 18 and they still found where i lived. It really is a bitch of a company!


Hassled me morning noon and night for payment on my ex-wife debt.. saying I was jointly libel. Got a CCJ put on me and carried on hassling that has re

May 16, 2015 by Graham

Hassled me morning noon and night for payment on my ex-wife debt.. saying I was jointly libel. Got a CCJ put on me and carried on hassling that has really messed up my life....


After numerous telephone calls and conversations saying money is owed and to be paid to this company (from all different phone numbers) I have always

Apr 25, 2015 by Mrs C

After numerous telephone calls and conversations saying money is owed and to be paid to this company (from all different phone numbers) I have always said to them send proof through the post of how much and for what and I will deal with it. Their response was we are not willing to do that at this point (so they cannot or will not even give me the details of the account they are trying to collect .....my response theres nothing else to say if you do not give me the details its ridiculous!! goodbye !!


Never had any debt and have been chased by PRA Group on behalf of the company. They clearly do not have my details as I have not received any correspo

Apr 24, 2015 by weeny

Never had any debt and have been chased by PRA Group on behalf of the company. They clearly do not have my details as I have not received any correspondence to this debt via post only via a new mobile number I got a few months ago.


Have just started calling me in the last few days, call ten already. I don`t answer and they do not leave a voice message. Let them put their so call

Mar 17, 2015 by Kevin

Have just started calling me in the last few days, call ten already. I don`t answer and they do not leave a voice message. Let them put their so called claim in writing


Just recieved two calls from these `people`. Did not answer either as I did not reconise the number. Then straight onto www.whocallsme.co.uk to see wh

Mar 13, 2015 by Kevin

Just recieved two calls from these `people`. Did not answer either as I did not reconise the number. Then straight onto www.whocallsme.co.uk to see who this number is. Then to Google and then to here. Thank-you for the above advice which I shall take on-board`but I shall, like all nusence calls, totally igore. If they have something to say, let them put it in writing.


My partner received demands from Mh about 10 years ago, I took great pleasure in giving them abuse, either over the phone or by post, sending mail wit

Mar 10, 2015 by Ken

My partner received demands from Mh about 10 years ago, I took great pleasure in giving them abuse, either over the phone or by post, sending mail with no stamps so they'd have to pay to receive letters only to find filled with crap in all senses of the word, even told them it was me, never heard from them after that! They are total scumbags


Just received a letter from these muppets, it seems that they are chasing a debt that was included in a debt relief order in 2010.I have spent most

Mar 01, 2015 by Robert

Just received a letter from these muppets, it seems that they are chasing a debt that was included in a debt relief order in 2010.
I have spent most of this weekend researching Mackenzie hall and all I can say is..............................BRING IT ON


d a outstanding overdraft issue which I now owe 3300, this was with barclays in 2014 and spiralled with interest from 2730. much of the debt was from

Feb 17, 2015 by anon

d a outstanding overdraft issue which I now owe 3300, this was with barclays in 2014 and spiralled with interest from 2730. much of the debt was from my on student overdraft account from 1998 - I basically lived in my o/d since! Barclays was unless lost my letters financial breakdowns twice and only received this when I went in branch and faxed it over. Been worried since December and now mackenzie contacted me yesterday. Gave them a ring and it seems my income does not meet my expenditure, they asked what I found afford and a plan of 40 per month was set. Now that's almost 7 years to pay this off but that wasn't questioned. Advisors were excellent well mannered and helped me. If they are chasing you call them I wasn't pleasantly surprised.


Constantly getting calls from this company, however they don't know my name or address! We have no debt - now or in past - and there is no reason fo

Feb 14, 2015 by Jane

Constantly getting calls from this company, however they don't know my name or address!
We have no debt - now or in past - and there is no reason for them to contact us, but they do not stop calling. Just reported them to TPS so hopefully this have some effect.


I have just received a ansafone message from Mckenzie Hall, not from a human but an automated 'robot'. This company have never written to me and in vi

Feb 12, 2015 by Michael

I have just received a ansafone message from Mckenzie Hall, not from a human but an automated 'robot'. This company have never written to me and in view of the amount of unsolicited calls I receive I do not answer 'Witheld' numbers or those I do not recognise, including any voice messages. Until this company put pen to paper and indicate why they are bothering me 'No Reply' will remain my mandate.


I am constantly reciveing calls from this company day after day morning noon and night I keep blocking but they keep changing the number I will never

Feb 06, 2015 by Smokey winterburn

I am constantly reciveing calls from this company day after day morning noon and night I keep blocking but they keep changing the number I will never answer as I don't own anybody any money and if I did they would have my address to write to me as long as they keep ringing I will keep blocking and ignoring at the end of the day it is costing them to pay someone to spend the time to call me everyday so who is losing out me or them


Result 🙂 Following my FSO complaint. A letter from MH arrived this morning. I now have in writing that. The alleged debt from 1995 has now been writt

Feb 05, 2015 by Andrew

Result 🙂 Following my FSO complaint. A letter from MH arrived this morning. I now have in writing that. The alleged debt from 1995 has now been written off, and the account is now closed & I will NOT be contacted by MH again. I will keep letter on file just in case they don't stick to it.


This number was on a letter we received for a company not registered to our address demanding over £700 for an unpaid gas bill. I rang them to let th

Feb 03, 2015 by C Heath

This number was on a letter we received for a company not registered to our address demanding over £700 for an unpaid gas bill. I rang them to let them know that we bought the property only 18 months ago and that any such company was no longer at this address. I was told that would be the end of the matter. Today they rang me asking to speak to someone regarding the said company. They had held on to my PRIVATE telephone number when I rang them and then the woman blatantly lied and told me it was associated with the company they were ringing about. I told her she was a liar and that if she didn't remove my number from the database, I would take legal action. Unbelievable.


Had a letter from the FSO. They have given me a ref No & the name of the person dealing with it. They have written to MH. So just have to wait to hear

Feb 01, 2015 by Andrew

Had a letter from the FSO. They have given me a ref No & the name of the person dealing with it. They have written to MH. So just have to wait to hear back.


Hassled for debt for person never heard of. Virgin changed number without charge (and to a better one!). Read posts so didn't give them my name or add

Jan 27, 2015 by Gwendelyn

Hassled for debt for person never heard of. Virgin changed number without charge (and to a better one!). Read posts so didn't give them my name or address so hoping to be free of them now.


Guess what MH have changed their name to the PRA Group & apparently they also trade as Akitiv Kapital. So when I was told by MH that they had bought

Jan 27, 2015 by Andrew

Guess what MH have changed their name to the PRA Group & apparently they also trade as Akitiv Kapital. So when I was told by MH that they had bought the alleged debt from AK(Lie) & now saying PRA have bought the debt from MH(Lie). I have forwarded all this to the FSO with the list of calls(inc time) for the week 19/1 - 23/1 Twelve (2 a day with 4 on the Wed).


I have filed a complaint with the FSO. I haven't received any calls for a while & thought at last MH have stopped. Wrong they have changed their numbe

Jan 13, 2015 by Andrew

I have filed a complaint with the FSO. I haven't received any calls for a while & thought at last MH have stopped. Wrong they have changed their number(01563503800) & rang this morning. so that number has now go onto my call blocker.


Husband had negative equity on a flat he owned in about 2003, Northern Rock sold it and he still owed £21K or thereabouts. He was paying about £35

Jan 12, 2015 by Tracey KK

Husband had negative equity on a flat he owned in about 2003, Northern Rock sold it and he still owed £21K or thereabouts. He was paying about £35 a month and then 2 years ago they assigned the debt to MH who carried that payment on, they then put it up to £50. My husband is a teacher and has been off with stress 3 times in the last 15 months, he is now unable to face the thought of going back into the classroom full time and has signed on with 4 agencies for the odd day on supply teaching. Since September term started he has done a grand total of about 6 days and has not had a sniff of work since school started back last week. MH keep ringing him and he has now had to fill out an income and expenditure form. He is unable to offer anything as he has no money coming in on a regular basis and can;t really go on JSA because the odd day of teaching does come in and his daily rate would be more than he is allowed to earn on benefits. The debt was in place 5 years before he met me, I own the house we live in and pay all the bills apart from the security alarm and his personal biils such as mobile phone, car insurance etc. MH have given him 14 days to fill the I&E form in otherwise they will take it to \'the next step\'. The debt has disappeared off his credit file so we are just going to take things as they come. I haven\'t put my income down on the I&E form as the debt is nothing to do with me.


I have had possibly a hundred or more calls from these people. They say I owe £80 to a bank I have never banked with and to add to the insult the 'de

Jan 06, 2015 by William

I have had possibly a hundred or more calls from these people. They say I owe £80 to a bank I have never banked with and to add to the insult the 'debt' is apparently 19 years old! Either way, I must receive 4 calls a day from these people


I receive at least 10 automated calls a day, I have written to them but never received a reply? I have tried to ring them but only get an answer phone

Dec 30, 2014 by mishelle

I receive at least 10 automated calls a day, I have written to them but never received a reply? I have tried to ring them but only get an answer phone service


I have been receiving calls off this company for the last month or so . The person they want to speak to is not me ! They always leave a standard mes

Dec 23, 2014 by Sally Latham

I have been receiving calls off this company for the last month or so . The person they want to speak to is not me ! They always leave a standard message asking for this person to contact them. How do I stop this ?


just received a letter, probably 1st of many as they are asking " am i this named person" I have also had lots of landline calls, which i do not answ

Dec 20, 2014 by mark

just received a letter, probably 1st of many as they are asking " am i this named person" I have also had lots of landline calls, which i do not answer because the phone is for my possible medical emergencies. They leave messages for other people to contact them. This is done deliberately so that you contact them saying this person has never lived here, giving your name and hey presto !


Since my last post(10th Nov) I have now received a complaint form from the financial ombudsman which I have filled in & returned. I bought a call blo

Dec 19, 2014 by Andrew

Since my last post(10th Nov) I have now received a complaint form from the financial ombudsman which I have filled in & returned. I bought a call blocker which stopped them from calling me for a while until they then started calling from a withheld number, but since the 4th Dec the calls have stopped.


Sick of mackenzie hall from 8 in the morning till 8pm constantly on the phone I have told them I work as a wagon driver and they had the cheek o tell

Dec 17, 2014 by mark

Sick of mackenzie hall from 8 in the morning till 8pm constantly on the phone I have told them I work as a wagon driver and they had the cheek o tell me to pull over and stop to talk to them so I had a run in with them and now they are constantly barmbarding my girlfriends phone how they got her number baffleds me even she has told them to stop phoning her but they have took no notice we have all the voice mails which are automated voices 🙁


Hi I do t actually remember dealing with this company but I have just recieved a letter stating I have overpaid on my account and enclosed a cheque fo

Dec 15, 2014 by Mumsky

Hi I do t actually remember dealing with this company but I have just recieved a letter stating I have overpaid on my account and enclosed a cheque for £300 . They ask for us to cancel with my bank any future payments which I have none set up anyway so I am mightily confused....is this a new ploy to make contact to start a chase for an old debt ???


I had a secure loan with welcome finance and the have sold the debt to this lot. Was in default with welcome this is now off my credit report . I am i

Dec 05, 2014 by John

I had a secure loan with welcome finance and the have sold the debt to this lot. Was in default with welcome this is now off my credit report . I am in the process of trying to sell the property to get this lot of my back


Got another letter this morning. Same thing. My daughter, a solicitor, has said to ignore them and send them to her Company who will file for harassme

Nov 27, 2014 by Bobby

Got another letter this morning. Same thing. My daughter, a solicitor, has said to ignore them and send them to her Company who will file for harassment damages! Great news.


Just received my letter! Went to the online site and put in the references AND password THEY supply, and I owe them (or someone) £250!! Strange as I

Nov 12, 2014 by Bobby

Just received my letter! Went to the online site and put in the references AND password THEY supply, and I owe them (or someone) £250!! Strange as I don't owe anyone for anything, no loans, no mortgage, no debt, so how come I suddenly "owe" them money, on a website where they provide all the details. Totally criminal. The letter will go unanswered on my notice board for a couple of months and then get binned. After reading these reviews, they're clearly as bent as a fiddlers elbow.


Fishing or Phishing? What a racket this mob are trying to extract money from innocent people. We are very stable financially, don\'t owe anybody we w

Nov 11, 2014 by Sirmione

Fishing or Phishing? What a racket this mob are trying to extract money from innocent people. We are very stable financially, don\'t owe anybody we we have been on the electoral roll in the same house for 14 years home have fully paid off our mortgage, our credit card balance is usually cleared monthly and have an immaculate credit record which we check regularly. They only call on my mobile number which isn\'t listed, but not on my house phone number which is in the phone book. The interesting bit is only about ten of my friends & family have my mobile number, ***** I did however give it out when I was getting some new appliances delivered and about a month after which the calls started. *****
I don\'t see any point in engaging in dialogue with these unreasonable and idiots I now have number blockers on both my landline and mobile and take some satisfaction in reading the call blocker logs show their calls getting squashed.

My mobile contract is about to expire so I will change my number, and in future I won\'t give it out to delivery companies .


I have contacted the financial ombudsman complaining about these guys and await their reply

Nov 10, 2014 by Andrew

I have contacted the financial ombudsman complaining about these guys and await their reply


Just got off the phone with someone called Lee, asking to confirm my details. Didn't like being told that as he was calling me on a private number I d

Nov 08, 2014 by CrazyDaddy

Just got off the phone with someone called Lee, asking to confirm my details. Didn't like being told that as he was calling me on a private number I didn't have to confirm anything, that this call IS being recorded my end, and that his colleagues have been informed that there is a charge of £100.00 for my time on the call, so I need his full name and logon details so I can show who authorised payment. My number will be removed from the system


Ive been getting phone calls ann messages from these people asking for somone who is not me they need to sort themselves out!!

Nov 06, 2014 by emma

Ive been getting phone calls ann messages from these people asking for somone who is not me they need to sort themselves out!!


McKenzie Hall have been calling me for the past 2 months. I have looked them up and find they are debt collectors. I am not aware of any debts so have

Nov 06, 2014 by Lesley

McKenzie Hall have been calling me for the past 2 months. I have looked them up and find they are debt collectors. I am not aware of any debts so have ignored this company and have contacted my phone company to stop these calls.


I am fed up with makinze hall calling me on my mobile they are asking for someone who is not even me it just goes to show they do not know who they wa

Nov 04, 2014 by Carol Berry

I am fed up with makinze hall calling me on my mobile they are asking for someone who is not even me it just goes to show they do not know who they want


these scum have been calling twice a day for 3 months about a non existant debt letters are now going from my solicitor to both companys and chief exe

Oct 31, 2014 by rodger

these scum have been calling twice a day for 3 months about a non existant debt letters are now going from my solicitor to both companys and chief exec also suing for legal expensis they deserve minus 5 stars


Georgina, don't get mad, get even! Complain to the Ombudsman (below) it is their normal practice to award compensation where they have harassed the w

Oct 30, 2014 by Tony

Georgina, don't get mad, get even! Complain to the Ombudsman (below) it is their normal practice to award compensation where they have harassed the wrong person! Plus, they will disappear quicker than an English summer!


These reptiles day in day out leave messages on my mobile for someone that is not me!!!Have told them not to ring and leave messages to no avail-perha

Oct 27, 2014 by Georgina Atkins

These reptiles day in day out leave messages on my mobile for someone that is not me!!!Have told them not to ring and leave messages to no avail-perhaps they do not understand english - ba****ds driving me mad


They have been calling me for around two years now, more recently under the name of PRA who have taken them over. I have checked Equifax and Noddle an

Oct 27, 2014 by Mark

They have been calling me for around two years now, more recently under the name of PRA who have taken them over. I have checked Equifax and Noddle and have absolutely no outstanding debts. Reading the advice from others I will completely ignore these people from now on and make a complaint to the FSA.


To the contributors below: Report them! If enough people complained through official channels, they would either have to pack in this nonsense or fa

Oct 24, 2014 by Tony

To the contributors below: Report them! If enough people complained through official channels, they would either have to pack in this nonsense or face being shut down! Whilst you are at it claim compensation too.

http://www.financial-ombudsman.org.uk/publications/technical_notes/debtcollecting-note.html#8

Bill, some of the call blockers come pre-programmed with known nuisance callers, so perhaps you have killed two birds with one stone. And if you reject their calls immediately- which the call-blocker does- then they will give up as they know they are wasting their time calling if you never accept the call.


They've been ringing my number for a couple of years upto 3 times a week asking for somebody who has never lived here and who I have never heard of.

Oct 23, 2014 by Bill

They've been ringing my number for a couple of years upto 3 times a week asking for somebody who has never lived here and who I have never heard of. I've never answered the phone to them but eventually got a call blocker which did help. The mystery now is that they haven't rung for about 3 weeks. I've received no calls from any cold callers in that time either. I don't know why. Can anybody suggest an explanation?


They have started calling and harassing my elderly parents at an address I haven't lived at for over 25 years. Scumbags.

Oct 23, 2014 by Lynda

They have started calling and harassing my elderly parents at an address I haven't lived at for over 25 years. Scumbags.


this bunch of scum fish till they find a person to harrass

Oct 22, 2014 by roger j

this bunch of scum fish till they find a person to harrass


Hi Tony, I bought myself a call blocker & hey presto after a couple of blocked calls they have stopped. I will keep the "cease and desist" letter & FS

Oct 21, 2014 by Andrew

Hi Tony, I bought myself a call blocker & hey presto after a couple of blocked calls they have stopped. I will keep the "cease and desist" letter & FSA suggestions in mind in case they start again.


Andrew it is a shame you ever spoke to them as that encourages them to bully you. I didn't ever pick up to them and they disappeared after half a doz

Oct 14, 2014 by Tony

Andrew it is a shame you ever spoke to them as that encourages them to bully you. I didn't ever pick up to them and they disappeared after half a dozen calls. They are in Scotland, so whilst you could sue them for harassment it requires extra procedures. You could send them a bill for £250 for damages for harassment, with a "cease and desist" letter, perhaps they will do so; However the easiest course of action is to report them to the Financial Services Ombudsman, who has the power to order them to stop and, more interestingly, to order them to pay you damages! They are not allowed to persist in claiming a statute barred debt if you ask them to stop. In any case keep a diary of all contacts and attempted contacts.

Take a look:
http://www.financial-ombudsman.org.uk/publications/technical_notes/debtcollecting-note.html#8


am 71years old never heard of these people but they call everyday I have now told the police and they are looking into the matter for me. I no longer

Oct 14, 2014 by jellybean

am 71years old never heard of these people but they call everyday I have now told the police and they are looking into the matter for me. I no longer answer the phone they leave messages easy to delete.


I was contacted by a debt company in Jan 14 about a so called debt I since found to be from 1994(20 years old). I wrote back to them with the standard

Oct 13, 2014 by Andrew

I was contacted by a debt company in Jan 14 about a so called debt I since found to be from 1994(20 years old). I wrote back to them with the standard "statute barred" letter & heard no more, until August when MH started ringing & writing. I again sent them the "statute barred" letter. As of today 13th Oct they are still ringing both my landline & my Mobile(which is only used for emergency's & the number has never been given out) at least 4 times a day. How can I stop this???


They are Muppets who have no power. If by law you are entitled to a copy of the agreement and they do not provide it then surely this is harassment.

Oct 12, 2014 by DEB

They are Muppets who have no power. If by law you are entitled to a copy of the agreement and they do not provide it then surely this is harassment.
If the police are not taking action for anyone then report it as fraud as they are misleading you to make a gain for themselves and a loss to you. Fraud is an intent act so you don't have to have paid any money worth a try. They are sending you letters and phoning you this is more than preparatory. Hope this helps.


Love playing with these people. Rang today asked to speak to me, I asked who's calling and they Carl from PSA is that john? I said what does PSA stand

Oct 08, 2014 by Johno

Love playing with these people. Rang today asked to speak to me, I asked who's calling and they Carl from PSA is that john? I said what does PSA stand for? He asked me to confirm my address I said no tell me what PSA stands for. Infant he replied until you confirm your address. At that point i laughed and called him a nob head and told him I didn't come on the lasts banana boat and he put phone down lol


Jon, you have found out the hard way that if you ever speak to these \"chancers\" (good description) then they think they have a bite and never let go

Oct 03, 2014 by Tony

Jon, you have found out the hard way that if you ever speak to these \"chancers\" (good description) then they think they have a bite and never let go. They think if they harass you enough you are going to pay them to go away. You could sue for harassment, but it is complicated by the fact they are Scottish, so not so easy. But why threaten them with the FSA? Do it!!! Put in a complaint to the Financial Services Ombudsman and ask them to award you damages against the company. This shower of sh*t is only still trading because people like yourself do not simply report them to the authorities, instead of appealing to a better nature they don\'t have.

I was called by this company earlier this year; every time I saw their number I immediately pressed the \"reject call\" button. They called about six times and gave it up as a bad job. That is how to deal with them. You have about as much chance of getting a result by talking to them, as you would with ISIS.


They\'ve called me constantly for over 3 years AFTER I was made bankrupt. I kept telling them I was a bankrupt, then a discharged bankrupt, but they k

Oct 03, 2014 by Jon

They\'ve called me constantly for over 3 years AFTER I was made bankrupt. I kept telling them I was a bankrupt, then a discharged bankrupt, but they kept calling. Even the Official Receiver told them any debt prior to the bankruptcy was included, but no. Recently sent them a letter outlining the law regarding unlawful harassment and pursuing debt when it was contested. Even threatened them with the FOS and FCA, but they still call. Luckily, I have barred their numbers, so I just get voicemail messages, which I log in order to use as proof of harassment.
From what I\'ve read about this lot, they are \"chancers\", buying old debt and trying to squeeze anything out of people, regardless of whether it\'s legitimate debt or not. Why the government doesn\'t do something about them, I don\'t know. They are worse than Wonga! Would have given them 0/5 if I could.


Ross, what is there to risk? The chances they would do anything are very remote indeed. Knowing McKenzie Hall, the debt was probably statute barred

Oct 02, 2014 by Tony

Ross, what is there to risk? The chances they would do anything are very remote indeed. Knowing McKenzie Hall, the debt was probably statute barred before you started paying it anyway. How long was it between your last payment to the original creditor, and when you started paying MH?

Steve, reflect on the fact that the only reason you have had to deal with them for a whole year- despite the fact you owe nothing- is because you spoke to them at all. They rang me at the beginning of this year- I never answered, in fact I simply bounced the call as soon as I saw who it was.... they decided it was a waste of time ringing someone who never answered and after about five attempts they disappeared, never to be heard from again. Never talk to a debt collector- least of all this ignorant bunch.


these people ring me constantly claiming i owe nearly £1800. ive never taken on any debt that high. after a year of hurling insults and obscenities d

Oct 02, 2014 by steve

these people ring me constantly claiming i owe nearly £1800. ive never taken on any debt that high. after a year of hurling insults and obscenities down the phone at them, i decided to check my credit report. there is nothing there on mackenzie hall or any other company claiming this debt, so today i asked for proof and will report them for harassment if they continue


I have a debt with mh (cannot remember what it was for originally) £10 a month was agreed to be paid back. I recently set up a joint account and chan

Oct 02, 2014 by Ross

I have a debt with mh (cannot remember what it was for originally) £10 a month was agreed to be paid back. I recently set up a joint account and changed direct to debits to this account and all direct debits have been set up again bar the 1for mh. I haven't had any contact from them about non payment. Do I risk leaving it and forgetting about it or get in touch with them and find out why?


MH have recently started ringing me (again) with an automated message about Christine Perkins (who has now become C Perkins). Since their last bout of

Sep 30, 2014 by Donald

MH have recently started ringing me (again) with an automated message about Christine Perkins (who has now become C Perkins). Since their last bout of calling I've got a call blocker and was around to pick up and block them.


These muppets for last week have rung our landline number on average 5-7 times a day, unfortunately I work away from home and my wife has answered the

Sep 29, 2014 by Wolfie

These muppets for last week have rung our landline number on average 5-7 times a day, unfortunately I work away from home and my wife has answered the phone, they ring on different numbers every time making it impossible to block the number driving my wife to mad.
I tried a different approach, fortunately for me I work 5 miles outside of Killmarnock where they operate from so I went to there office (which is amusing in itself as they operate from above a sex shop). I tried the buzzer and was told over the buzzer they don't deal with people face to face and can only deal over the phone.


No, it is not legal, John. It is in breach of the Protection from Harassment Act, since if you are not the party they are trying to contact, then the

Sep 25, 2014 by Tony

No, it is not legal, John. It is in breach of the Protection from Harassment Act, since if you are not the party they are trying to contact, then they have no lawful reason for continuing to harass you. I suggest you write to them, objecting to their conduct, and bill them for £250 for damages for their conduct. Hopefully that should see them off, but if not, then keep a diary of every attempted contact; meaning you do need to answer to verify that it is them speaking. You can then sue them for real; come back for advice if necessary!


My problem with this company is that they are chasing someone who is not on my number and never has been on my number and no matter how many times I h

Sep 25, 2014 by John

My problem with this company is that they are chasing someone who is not on my number and never has been on my number and no matter how many times I have told them this, they still call. I now bar their calls but they keep switching numbers, even making up local numbers to try and fool me. I'm not even sure if that is legal. I now don't answer any caller I don't recognise and I bar all calls that I find on sites like this.


If they call again just hang up on them, Debbie. That will give them the message. You don't want to be talking to these clowns.

Sep 23, 2014 by Tony

If they call again just hang up on them, Debbie. That will give them the message. You don't want to be talking to these clowns.


I just had a phone call from them. He said he's from Makenzie Hall and would like me to confirm my full name and date of birth. I asked what is it abo

Sep 23, 2014 by debbie

I just had a phone call from them. He said he's from Makenzie Hall and would like me to confirm my full name and date of birth. I asked what is it about. I've never heard of them so I declined to give my details. He said ok then we can't continue this phone call and said bye. After reading this page I'm glad I didn't get into a loooong conversation with them. D


Moto, why worry about it? That time back in the mid-naughties was pretty bad for a lot of people. It created a lot of debt, so there is nothing to b

Sep 23, 2014 by Tony

Moto, why worry about it? That time back in the mid-naughties was pretty bad for a lot of people. It created a lot of debt, so there is nothing to be ashamed about. You are a victim, not a villain. Indeed the biggest debtors were the Banks, arguably the ones which caused the problem. But they were bailed out by you and I- the taxpayers. The rest of us weren't so lucky.


To the three posters below: as the Webmaster suggests, this company is the dregs, about the worst of what is anyway a bad bunch. The disclosure of i

Sep 23, 2014 by Tony

To the three posters below: as the Webmaster suggests, this company is the dregs, about the worst of what is anyway a bad bunch. The disclosure of information to a third party is a strict no-no, and also contrary to the Data Protection Act. Read and complain here:

http://www.financial-ombudsman.org.uk/publications/technical_notes/debtcollecting-note.html#8

and this body can also award you compensation to be paid for by the debt collector. Be sure and claim, particularly Mg if you have a recording of the call! Sooner or later they will be shut down. The only reason they are still there is because people moan but do not send the complaint through official circles.


Absolute bunch of legalised thieves whats wrong with this god forsaken country why do people like these jumped up nobody\'s get away with this crap W

Sep 23, 2014 by Mg

Absolute bunch of legalised thieves whats wrong with this god forsaken country why do people like these jumped up nobody\'s get away with this crap
What am i paying my taxes for exactly ???
They called my work (nhs hospital at a main A&E EMERGENCY TELEPHONE and told my colleague i owed money ???????????
Scumbags they surely cant get away with it what are the laws that be doing ? Luckily they have been reported to offcom and a nhs government fraud squad for ringing the phone they did which was recorded but now ive got to explain to my peers what its all about and i don\'t owe the debt they asked about i hope they are shut down like ive been told might happen or given a major fine


Scumbags they pestered me at work and gave my details to a colleague They all need investigation ive written to my local MP the debt was 7 years ago

Sep 23, 2014 by Moto

Scumbags they pestered me at work and gave my details to a colleague
They all need investigation ive written to my local MP the debt was 7 years ago after losing my job through redundancy now ive got to find another job because im so embarrassed and im off with stress im going to sue


not my debt wrong person , should be shut down this company.

Sep 22, 2014 by joe bloggs

not my debt wrong person , should be shut down this company.


I just got called by Mackenzie Hall regarding someone else\'s debt. This is about the dozenth time I\'ve been called regarding this debt - to my mobi

Sep 11, 2014 by DC

I just got called by Mackenzie Hall regarding someone else\'s debt. This is about the dozenth time I\'ve been called regarding this debt - to my mobile number that I\'ve held for 10 years plus - all from firms that claim to be different but use an identical recorded voice for the debtor\'s name.

Last time one of these firms called I made sure they knew I wasn\'t the person they are looking for - I\'m not even the same gender - and that further calls would be reported to the police. This I am now going to do.


To be fair, he is being sued by the American company who bought Mackenzie Hall last year- he is no longer the owner. It doesn't say why. But he is a

Sep 02, 2014 by Tony

To be fair, he is being sued by the American company who bought Mackenzie Hall last year- he is no longer the owner. It doesn't say why. But he is a multi-millionaire on the back of his dubious and at times illegal practices, extracting money by coercion from those least able to afford it..... So yes indeed- don't pay them a penny and NEVER speak to them. To describe them as cowboys is an insult to those brave men who pioneered the conquest of the Wild West though- SCUM would be a more fitting description.


Please Google search: "PAUL MACKENZIE" the first result to see the owner of this debt agency himself is BEING SUED!!! This company is rotten from the

Sep 02, 2014 by Mackenzie Hall's Boss is being Sued

Please Google search: "PAUL MACKENZIE" the first result to see the owner of this debt agency himself is BEING SUED!!! This company is rotten from the top down don't pay them a penny EVER and never speak to them. Cowboys.


Ignore it and keep ignoring it Claudine. There is nothing they can or will do, so just let them talk to themselves.

Aug 29, 2014 by Tony

Ignore it and keep ignoring it Claudine. There is nothing they can or will do, so just let them talk to themselves.


Sorry, this is probably the wrong place for this but here goes!I have received a letter from these people this morning saying that they are trying t

Aug 29, 2014 by Claudine Young

Sorry, this is probably the wrong place for this but here goes!
I have received a letter from these people this morning saying that they are trying to contact me regarding a personal matter. I am currently in an IVA. What should I do?


Emma, you have made the mistake a lot of people make, which is to show them any respect and to treat them as if they were normal human beings. And th

Aug 27, 2014 by Tony

Emma, you have made the mistake a lot of people make, which is to show them any respect and to treat them as if they were normal human beings. And therefore to talk to them. Do not speak to them. Neither should you be intimidated into unplugging your phone. Whenever they call, answer but say not one word- simply immediately hang up as soon as you know who it is. They are a dam nuisance- which is what they set out to be- but their whole game plan is to open a dialogue with you, so they can try and bully you. As soon as they realise that isn't going to happen, they move on. Trust me, it has worked for me umpteen times.


Constant calling everyday and when that didn\'t work they then called using with held number. Very threatening and rude.They won\'t leave me alone do

Aug 27, 2014 by Emma

Constant calling everyday and when that didn\'t work they then called using with held number. Very threatening and rude.
They won\'t leave me alone doesn\'t matter what I say so I\'ve unplugged my phone.


They wrote to us last year and said \'WONGA\' wanted ther unpaid load paid now, We were like..WHAT......... on the phone to WONGA, they said, they ha

Aug 26, 2014 by Mr Angry

They wrote to us last year and said \'WONGA\' wanted ther unpaid load paid now, We were like..WHAT......... on the phone to WONGA, they said, they had no idea what we on about and would deal with them themselves, Scary thing was, it was around £700. i didn\'t want to give that 0ne star.:((


I had dealings with these clowns a few years back over someone trying to open a Capital One account in my name without authorisation, although the acc

Aug 22, 2014 by Lee

I had dealings with these clowns a few years back over someone trying to open a Capital One account in my name without authorisation, although the account never existed Capital One still insisted that the money had been taken out and spent and i was owing this money, it was eventually resolved by contacting Citizens advice and the local constabulary about credit fraud being committed.
Back then MH were known by another name which escapes me and the only way to get shot of them was to select their contact number in my mobile got in special features and make it a call forward number and to ring one of other companies so when it rang it was call forward to someone in their own office and no doubt had fun talking with themselves for hours on end until the calls stopped.

Unfortunately over the last year or so they have started up again just calling my number randomly and when ignored they leave this automated voice message quoting a reference number, no letters just this phone call irritation.
I have checked to make sure i have no debt pending and as far as i can tell i am debt free, unfortunately my current phone doesn\'t have the call barring or limited number forward so i am stuck with listening to their messages.

They are quite sneaky also and use other numbers besides this to get your attention, I have in total 14 different phone numbers entered in my phone all relaying the same message, from various location in the UK including localised calls all pertaining to be PARU which MH are part of, all calls have gone to a group called Dont Answer in my phone and have the quietest ring tone i can find on the phone.


Love it! Why not get a tape player and say "I will just put you on hold while you are waiting" and then switch on some music, give them a taste of th

Aug 19, 2014 by Tony

Love it! Why not get a tape player and say "I will just put you on hold while you are waiting" and then switch on some music, give them a taste of their own medicine!


I keep getting Mackenzie Hall calling me, they ask for me by name, I say I will just get him but hes down end of garden so it may take 5 mins, Ok they

Aug 19, 2014 by Dolly H

I keep getting Mackenzie Hall calling me, they ask for me by name, I say I will just get him but hes down end of garden so it may take 5 mins, Ok they say & I just put phone on the side & let them wait, after 10 mins if they are still there I say he just coming & put it on the side again. 🙂


So you have discovered what many of us knew all along. Mike S.They are total idiots. Never ever talk to a debt collector.

Aug 18, 2014 by Tony

So you have discovered what many of us knew all along. Mike S.

They are total idiots. Never ever talk to a debt collector.


After moving into a rented property over 3 years ago I began receiving letters addressed to someone else from a number of debt recovery agencies. One

Aug 18, 2014 by Mike S

After moving into a rented property over 3 years ago I began receiving letters addressed to someone else from a number of debt recovery agencies. One of the MH. I did what you should do - I returned every single letter, unopened, to the sender with a clear \"not at this address\" written on them. After a number of months of letters arriving roughly one per week I received an enquiry from the local council. Simply addressed to \"the occupier\" they wanted my help in finding the same named individual. During a phone call to the council I made it clear the individual did not live here as was evidenced by the electoral register and my council tax bill. I was informed that \"they are different departments so parking enforcement has no access to that information\". I was then informed that as the debt had been passed onto a recovery agency the council could do nothing more with the matter (so why contact me in the first place?).

After more weeks and more letters I returned home late from work to discover a hand delivered letter from a bailiff threatening to remove property if the debt was not settled. Having got in touch with the bailiff and explaining I was not the individual named I was told that to prevent him from returning to the property at any time of day or night I would have to provide proof to the company that I was who I said and was living at the property. I was fortunately in a position where doing this was relatively simple. End of the matter? MH continued sending letters to the property which in the end I began forwarding to my letting agent to deal with. It\'s been about a year since I received a letter from MH or anyone else regarding the (I assume) former tenant. I\'ve received another one today. The only plus side is that my fears of starting the whole process over again is removed by the fact that I will be moving in a few weeks.

MH and the companies like them spend who knows how much money sending letters like this to recover debts which (in this case at least) seem unrecoverable. This suggests that the additional charges applied to unfortunate individuals who have fallen into debt and do end up paying might not be so high if the companies didn\'t waste money in this way.

What could I have done differently? I\'ve informed the originator of the debt (the council) the debtor doesn\'t live here. My letting agency has informed the recovery agency he doesn\'t live here. Every letter sent to this address has been returned to the agency by myself or my letting agent. I\'ve even provided solid evidence to a registered bailiff firm that he doesn\'t live here but I\'m still finding letters.


I have now had several calls from these people and an automated voice asks me to call them back. I have had no debt since paying off my mortgage 21 ye

Aug 15, 2014 by David Green

I have now had several calls from these people and an automated voice asks me to call them back. I have had no debt since paying off my mortgage 21 years ago. The last loan for other purposes was paid off in the 1960's. Are these people just casting a net and hoping to catch people who are vulnerable?


Alison- just ignore them! So long as you carry on a conversation they will keep calling because they think they have got their toe in the door. If y

Aug 15, 2014 by Tony

Alison- just ignore them! So long as you carry on a conversation they will keep calling because they think they have got their toe in the door. If you terminate the call immediately and without speaking at all then they WILL go away, since they can't do anything else! Yes they are a lot of annoying bandits, but don't expect the Government to do anything about it anytime soon. Just ignore and they move on to look for someone who doesn't ignore them. That is what I have done on countless occasions and it works every time.


I keep getting phone calls from these people asking for me to give my name and address saying they cannot discuss who they are until i do how dare the

Aug 14, 2014 by alison

I keep getting phone calls from these people asking for me to give my name and address saying they cannot discuss who they are until i do how dare they randomly ring people like that asking personal questions who in there right mind is going to tell them there personal information like that wen they don\'t even know who these people are or how they got there number every time i have asked who is calling they don\'t want to give information only saying there a company called mackenzie hall im so p****d off now of these people ringing my phone i have put the phone down on them yet they still ring back i know this is some kind of scam thing trying to take place as i don\'t owe nothing to know one as in debts i have even swore at these people in temper telling them to basically stop ringing this number surely something can be done to stop people going ahead scamming people trying to get money out of people telling lies and hoping people will fall for it its against the law its forgery for a start i always thought forgery was a serious thing so why isn\'t more being done about things like this , no one has the rights to randomly ring a persons number wanting to know there business and trying to scam people in which i know that\'s what this is all about not everyone falls for stupidness there is to much of this sort of thing going on now something really needs to be done about people like this .


My son has no debt - past nor present - so I don't know why these clowns are pestering him as there is no money to be gained. I would like to know ho

Aug 10, 2014 by Julie

My son has no debt - past nor present - so I don't know why these clowns are pestering him as there is no money to be gained. I would like to know how they obtained his mobile number. He has not had a letter from them because they cannot have a clue who he is as they will not have any record of his name or address. It seems to me that they are targeting just anybody hoping to make money out of it.


Other than to waste the cost of a phone call you did well, there, Mat! So they tried to pressure you into paying something they knew all along was un

Aug 09, 2014 by Tony

Other than to waste the cost of a phone call you did well, there, Mat! So they tried to pressure you into paying something they knew all along was uncollectable. They were kind of hoping you didn't know the law.... I call that dishonest, don't know about you?


I had a letter from them today asking me to pay a Debt I did not even recall, after reading your page I did call them, the debt was 7yrs old. Which I

Aug 09, 2014 by Mat dee

I had a letter from them today asking me to pay a Debt I did not even recall, after reading your page I did call them, the debt was 7yrs old. Which I did not know I had, I asked them for proof of claim and asked if the debt should be stat barred? The guy on the phone said yes it is we will close and sorry to bother you!


They are now calling my ex husbands work number asking him to get me to call them Giving him a reference number and saying it's a call from Mackenzie

Aug 06, 2014 by Mq

They are now calling my ex husbands work number asking him to get me to call them Giving him a reference number and saying it's a call from Mackenzie hall.obviously he googled and now knows I have bad debt Not good


I refer the Honourable Chris to my previous answer. Ignore the R-soles.

Aug 04, 2014 by Tony

I refer the Honourable Chris to my previous answer. Ignore the R-soles.


Had a text from them yesterday asking to call and quote a reference number. It did not address me by name or give any indication who they are. I had t

Aug 02, 2014 by Chris

Had a text from them yesterday asking to call and quote a reference number. It did not address me by name or give any indication who they are. I had to google it when I arrived home. I only use my mobile for friends and family calls therefore businesses would not have access to my number. All seemed so unprofessional.


Ignore, angi. After a bit they go away. Speaking to them will only encourage them to call you more often. Being ignored is the one response they ha

Aug 01, 2014 by Tony

Ignore, angi. After a bit they go away. Speaking to them will only encourage them to call you more often. Being ignored is the one response they have no answer to.


I just had a cold call from Mackenzie Hall i don't owe nobody anything i also have had no letters. they just want me to call back.

Aug 01, 2014 by angi

I just had a cold call from Mackenzie Hall i don't owe nobody anything i also have had no letters. they just want me to call back.


Good idea, Jeff. Send them a letter telling them that they are to cease and desist from calling your number, and if they continue to do so they agree

Jul 29, 2014 by Tony

Good idea, Jeff. Send them a letter telling them that they are to cease and desist from calling your number, and if they continue to do so they agree to you making an contractual charge of £20 to deal with every call. Then if they call you again.... it's off to Moneyclaim Online! Only fly in the ointment- they are Scotland based... but that can be overcome.....


They have got my mobile by mistake and keep ringing and asking for a person I have never heard of. I have explained this to them on a couple of occasi

Jul 27, 2014 by Jeff

They have got my mobile by mistake and keep ringing and asking for a person I have never heard of. I have explained this to them on a couple of occasions but to no avail so I am getting pi***d off. I will be invoicing them for wasting my time and if they don\'t pay up will take them to court for non payment.


I had a dealing with this scum of a debt company 6 years ago about a status barred debt I fired a sharp letter back off to them warning them of gettin

Jul 25, 2014 by doug hitchinson

I had a dealing with this scum of a debt company 6 years ago about a status barred debt I fired a sharp letter back off to them warning them of getting a solicitors letter and u prove to me I owe this debt so I want a copy of the credit agreement I signed under the credit agreement of 1974 which i\'m entitled to by law sent letter off they got the message haven\'t heard a thing since they really are the lowest of the lowest in debt company\'s


Mackenzie Hall is currently being investigated by several key organisations for their well-documented and under-hand tactics, not to mention many cri

Jul 23, 2014 by Jo Andreas

Mackenzie Hall is currently being investigated by several key organisations for their well-documented and under-hand tactics, not to mention many criminal accusations made against them.

And they have already had to lay off a significant proportion of people who have worked for them recently so perhaps the net is finally closing in


I have had calls from this number almost on a daily basis for months nowI have a spotless credit record and have always paid all my bills on time. O

Jul 23, 2014 by Fed up

I have had calls from this number almost on a daily basis for months now

I have a spotless credit record and have always paid all my bills on time. Of course I will never pick up this call, but they use different numbers so sometimes I have missed an important call

I just want them to stop calling


They are pushing me regarding a debt for someone not at my address but somehow they have my telephone number. Lots of calls then I put them onto a bar

Jul 23, 2014 by Anon

They are pushing me regarding a debt for someone not at my address but somehow they have my telephone number. Lots of calls then I put them onto a barred number list . Beware now they use the \'withheld number\' tactic. I did answer because it could have been the GP , hospital etc and with out giving any of my personal information just told them in an assertive way to delete my number. The girl confirmed they would , let\'s see what happens. I know I have no debts , I\'m an A plus rated by all the credit agencies having just recently made all the checks. Do not bow to these people at McKenzie Hall


Blocked a load of numbers and now only getting an occasional automated voicemail.

Jul 22, 2014 by Mackenzie Hall hater

Blocked a load of numbers and now only getting an occasional automated voicemail.


It should be a criminal offence to demand payment of a debt once it has gone statute-barred. It should be classed as making unwarranted demands with

Jun 20, 2014 by Too right

It should be a criminal offence to demand payment of a debt once it has gone statute-barred. It should be classed as making unwarranted demands with menaces (blackmail in common parlance) like the Scots did with wheel-clamping 20 years before our Government finally got around to banning it....

Also the selling of debts ought to be regulated, if not banned completely. Hopefully that would put all these shady parasites out of business.


I have been having repeated daily phone calls to my mobile, landline and even my In-laws landline. I checked the details of the letter I received from

Jun 19, 2014 by Ian Kershaw

I have been having repeated daily phone calls to my mobile, landline and even my In-laws landline. I checked the details of the letter I received from them and it says its for an overdraft with HSBC that I had in 1997! Funny thing is they have all my details but I\'ve never had an overdraft with HSBC. I have emailed them today not acknowledging ownership of the account and the fact that it is over 6 years old and so is Statute Barred! Did I get that right? They have to be one of the most annoying companies I\'ve ever spoken to or not spoken to as the case may be as all you get is a robotic version of your name then they ask you to redial a number. No thanks. I\'m not wasting my money on a phone call. You want to speak to me...you pay. Let\'s hope this stops all the nuisance calls. Let you know soon if they stop.


@ HAPPY, you either work for this scum or you don\'t have a clue about how this system works. These parasites do not collect money for the original l

Jun 16, 2014 by not a clue

@ HAPPY, you either work for this scum or you don\'t have a clue about how this system works. These parasites do not collect money for the original lender (who has written off the debt as a tax loss years before) but solely to put in their own pockets.

Maybe you remember the Bankers who caused most of this credit meltdown with their sheer greed. When it all went tits-up off they went to the Government with their hands out and were duly bailed out, courtesy of the taxpayer. No such luck for the rest of us, so is it any surprise we don\'t want to pay out any of our hard-earned to scam artists like this vermin. Hope they keep calling you, buddy, maybe you will open your eyes to what parasites these people are!


they just phone us with an unknown name would not tell us what they done as we are not the person so I said I wanted their company name and who I was

Jun 12, 2014 by anonymous

they just phone us with an unknown name would not tell us what they done as we are not the person so I said I wanted their company name and who I was speaking to explained I wasn\'t the person and wanted them to take my number off the list sure they have phoned us before so if they don\'t take the name off I will be telling them who I spoke to gets you so mad PAY WHAT YOU OWE MR TODD WHOEVER YOU ARE I am sick of calls for you now


I have had several calls to my works number from this company. I rang them back to discover someone called Karl Kays had obviously just given a rando

Jun 12, 2014 by H.A.P.P.Y

I have had several calls to my works number from this company. I rang them back to discover someone called Karl Kays had obviously just given a random number as his contact which turned out to be my work line. I find it hilarious the people on this site calling Mackenzie Hall parasites for having the temerity to chase debts. Statute barred or not - you have still failed in your obligation to pay what you owe. The only parasites I see are the uppity fools on here who cannot manage their money and think that just because 6 years has passed suddenly it's ok you haven't paid what you owe. Do you not realise you feckless losers are the reasons many businesses fold or downsize? Learn to manage your money and live within your means. I wish the law would be changed so that you are never in the clear until every last penny has been paid back. Money owing loser scum!


mackenzie hall keep leaving messages on my answer machine. message says press 5 to speak to an advisor. I have never pressed 5 and I never will

Jun 11, 2014 by malcolm

mackenzie hall keep leaving messages on my answer machine. message says press 5 to speak to an advisor. I have never pressed 5 and I never will


Having been harassed by this unknown number up to five times a day over a 24 hour period and over the last few weeks, only to have a missed called rob

Jun 11, 2014 by PMG56

Having been harassed by this unknown number up to five times a day over a 24 hour period and over the last few weeks, only to have a missed called robotic message stating my name, I mistakenly accepted the call today and once again got a robot! However within 30 seconds i had a call from the number 01563 556 733 and decided enough was enough and called them back. I was delighted to hear that the conversation was being recorded and informed the smarmy young man at the other end of the line that i would like this to be kept for when his firm is called by Ofcom! though initially reluctant to answer the security questions i thought what the hell as the robot knows my name so must this idiot! i was then told that the caller needed to speak to someone in authority because the call was in connection with an outstanding British Gas bill at my office address! i almost burst out laughing, but kept going and this will floor you!! i was asked to confirm my office address and did so and was then told i must pay the account - when I told the smarmy idiot the address was actually a sorting office he went very quiet......and then said it must be related to a previous office address. I nearly wet myself - because our last office was all electric!! The upshot is these people seem to be a bunch of con artists and are making spurious calls to anyone for any reason. they ought to be put out of business and its a disgrace that they should be allowed to do this. When I insisted that my numbers be deleted i got no answer ans simply put the phone down -gggrrrrrr! My advice is never, never call this firm back and I am about to copy this note to Ofcom. as i want to know how a barred number is still getting through to my land line and mobile!


I owed over £1k due to a mobile phone debt, a large sum of that was the disconnection or Held to Terms fee, not all phone calls! However I checked my

Jun 10, 2014 by Missy

I owed over £1k due to a mobile phone debt, a large sum of that was the disconnection or Held to Terms fee, not all phone calls! However I checked my credit report which said the account defaulted at £85 some months ago! Confused as hell I rang them, they had no details to confirm this so I sent them a screen shot. I\'ll watch his space! Luckily I haven\'t paid them more than about £90. My advice, check your credit report and get advice before paying them a penny! Get your facts straight and learn what your rights are 😉


Well I spoke to a David grant, explained my situation and he was very helpful. If I have any problems to contact him back. I don\'t know about all th

Jun 09, 2014 by Joanne

Well I spoke to a David grant, explained my situation and he was very helpful. If I have any problems to contact him back. I don\'t know about all the negativity going on here till I have paid my debt to these. But if u explain the situation am sure they will sort it out, I had a good friendly chat.


I was receiving a letter a week from them about 3 years ago. I just binned every one and then one day they stopped coming. About 2 months ago they sta

Jun 02, 2014 by Jules

I was receiving a letter a week from them about 3 years ago. I just binned every one and then one day they stopped coming. About 2 months ago they started calling both my home and mobile. I have to answer my phone as I use it for work purposes. When they call they have to say who they are and that calls are recorded for training purposes. I always tell them that I do not give permission for them to record my voice and so they have no choice but to hang up. Keep wasting yr time MH employees or alternatively, quit your job and get a life.


I am constantly getting calls from these people asking for my daughter who has never lived here yet I do not seem to be able to stop them, I am sick a

Jun 01, 2014 by lynn

I am constantly getting calls from these people asking for my daughter who has never lived here yet I do not seem to be able to stop them, I am sick and disabled and do not need this stress, I spoke to my daughter who has blatantly lied to me as she assured me the company were just cold callers wanting to sell ppi


@new MH hater, you are making the mistake of talking to them it simply encourages them as they know they've got to you. Simply reject all their calls

May 28, 2014 by simples

@new MH hater, you are making the mistake of talking to them it simply encourages them as they know they've got to you. Simply reject all their calls, most are 01563 but don't answer any unknown number; instead try dialling it late at night and see what the answerphone says... NEVER EVER TALK TO THIS SCUM. I bounced every call they made and they got fed up with it, and went on their way.


I don\'t have an email, but I can tell you they have LOTS of different telephone numbers. They use these to try and hide who they are and where they a

May 28, 2014 by Paul McGowan

I don\'t have an email, but I can tell you they have LOTS of different telephone numbers. They use these to try and hide who they are and where they are calling from. The numbers I have for them are, in no particular order....
01480 369832
01823 726122
01292 518842
01438 771572
01908 850382
0191 2069102
01473 209262
01223 377494
0161 4524672
01708 287082
01223 545261
01654 749172
01407 799402
0207 7175412
0208 4547442
01782 585162
01558 629162
0141 3053042
01306 519352
01631 785022
01323 459882
01925 426162

There are probably others, but these are the ones I am absolutely sure about, and of course, there are lots beginning with 01563.


Does anyone have an email address for these scumbags, they phone 24-7 trying to get me to verify my address!!

May 28, 2014 by new MH hater

Does anyone have an email address for these scumbags, they phone 24-7 trying to get me to verify my address!!


Ann Noyed- it depends upon when the last payment was made. If nothing has been paid for over 6 years (5 if you're in Scotland) then the debt is dead

May 23, 2014 by lawyer

Ann Noyed- it depends upon when the last payment was made. If nothing has been paid for over 6 years (5 if you're in Scotland) then the debt is dead and unenforceable, though that won't stop these morons trying. Even if it's not statute barred, then the best policy is to simply ignore their attempts to contact you, annoying though they are- under no circumstances respond to them or answer the phone to them. They WILL get fed up and go away. Trust me I've been there. More than once!


These people call my home number twice daily , call my work and leave messages with every department asking me to call them . It's embarrassing cause

May 20, 2014 by Ann. Noyed

These people call my home number twice daily , call my work and leave messages with every department asking me to call them . It's embarrassing cause my employer thinks I'm in serious debt when I'm not . My credit history is squeaky clean . I believe their after my ex husband for a 9 year old debt I know they means tested him but couldn't get any thing from him as he's on disability , as I countersigned the original agreement and it's 9 years old can they still pester me .... ????


WHO ARE THESE PEOPLE MCKENZIE WHO HAVE BEEN RINGING ME EVERY DAY FOR A WEEK! WELL THEY HAVE PICKED ON THE WRONG PERSON AS I WORKED FOR THE JUSTICE SY

May 20, 2014 by Carol Allen

WHO ARE THESE PEOPLE MCKENZIE WHO HAVE BEEN RINGING ME EVERY DAY FOR A WEEK! WELL THEY HAVE PICKED ON THE WRONG PERSON AS I WORKED FOR THE JUSTICE SYSTEM! PRESUMABLY THEY HAVE PICKED UP ON THE PREVIOUS OWNER OF MY PHONE NO - A person called Ashley - WHO I HAVE HAD CALLS ABOUT FOR OVER 2 YEARS NOW. ISN\'T IT SIMPLE HE/SHE COULDN\'T PAY THE BILL FOR THE PHONE IT WAS RETRACTED AND THE NUMBER ALLOCATED TO SOMEONE ELSE - ME!!! DISGRACEFUL COMPANY. THEY DO NOT LEAVE A MESSAGE JUST A TELEPHONE NUMBER AND TO THINK I AM REGISTERED WITH THE NO-CALL LISTINGS!


Mucky Hall have been harassing me for months on behalf of aktiv capital. Emailed them to notify them of statue barred debt and they sent me a statemen

May 16, 2014 by Emma

Mucky Hall have been harassing me for months on behalf of aktiv capital. Emailed them to notify them of statue barred debt and they sent me a statement for 1 year and telling me that I have an obligation to settle the debt. I 1 word to mucky hall NO. They completely ignore any rules or laws set out to keep them in check. But I've now threatened them with Legal action and the OFT/FSA/FO if they send me anymore threatening letters. Complete scum bag bottom feeders. O rating for them


1st text via \'brand new\' sim... was from these ****asking for \'random name\' how did they get this \'brand new\' number as a contact, asking for

May 09, 2014 by tim

1st text via \'brand new\' sim... was from these ****
asking for \'random name\'

how did they get this \'brand new\' number as a contact, asking for name i never heard of.......T-mobile?? selling numbers???


Hi. I see from the above you mention debts are time barred after 6 years. I think in Scotland it's 5 years

May 09, 2014 by Gavin

Hi. I see from the above you mention debts are time barred after 6 years. I think in Scotland it's 5 years


Stop phoning me. I have no debts

May 07, 2014 by Maude

Stop phoning me. I have no debts


Chasing me for a statute barred debt. Good luck with that. If it continues they will be reported to OFT and Financial Ombudsman.

May 06, 2014 by Mr C

Chasing me for a statute barred debt. Good luck with that. If it continues they will be reported to OFT and Financial Ombudsman.


Dear sirs, For some years I have received monthly charges of 35 pounds in my bank account for HSBC financing. I would like to send me responding to

Apr 24, 2014 by Antonio Trillo Blanco

Dear sirs,
For some years I have received monthly charges of 35 pounds in my bank account for HSBC financing. I would like to send me responding to this email with a summary total paid and total yet to be charged, also like to know whether I have any credit with this company.
No more for the moment
Antonio Trillo Blanco ( trilloa@rocketmail.com )


Dear sirs, For some years I have received monthly charges of 35 pounds in my bank account for HSBC financing. I would like to send me responding to

Apr 24, 2014 by Antonio Trillo Blanco

Dear sirs,
For some years I have received monthly charges of 35 pounds in my bank account for HSBC financing. I would like to send me responding to this email with a summary total paid and total yet to be charged, also like to know whether I have any credit with this company.
No more for the moment
Antonio Trillo Blanco (trilloa@rocketmail.com


I have to laugh about this company. My job requires that I work from home and so I have a second phone line to call out on only I.e. it's always on si

Apr 22, 2014 by fred

I have to laugh about this company. My job requires that I work from home and so I have a second phone line to call out on only I.e. it's always on silent if it's ever called. This McKenzie Hall mob have been calling this line for YEARS!!!!! with an automated message asking for a named person I don't know to ring them. Needless to say I Ignore them but I do feel for people who get hassle on their main line.


I have had 2 letters off them. I know that I do not owe any money to anyone. I think they are low life and should get an honest job, instead of threat

Apr 22, 2014 by Do not owe any money

I have had 2 letters off them. I know that I do not owe any money to anyone. I think they are low life and should get an honest job, instead of threatening decent people.


Mackenzie hall are calling at least once per day, its not even a human on the end of the phone just a machine asking for someone who doesn't live here

Apr 21, 2014 by Annoyed.com!

Mackenzie hall are calling at least once per day, its not even a human on the end of the phone just a machine asking for someone who doesn't live here!. Thank god for caller ID and answer phones because these people are pains in the proverbial!


I had some debts from Uni. This firm rang my number from several numbers. They were persistent. They rang from numbers far away but also locally to in

Apr 19, 2014 by Phil

I had some debts from Uni. This firm rang my number from several numbers. They were persistent. They rang from numbers far away but also locally to intimidate.

They say they are a firm that deals with outsourced (don't quote me there) contracts - one being debt collection.

Now I have been paying debts I owe; however, this one seems unlikely because Lloyds - who they say they are working on behalf of - normally sell their debts to debt collectors and so the debt collectors don't keep your original info. on their database. But this firm claims not to have been sold the debt and are able to get details of the debt from Lloyds. It is so suspicious.

And even the date of the debt does not seem to be a time I had debt to pay back with Lloyds.

Just be careful. I think one's conscience determines that one should be aware of our debts but not be harassed about them, and certainly, the banks are not innocent in all this, so be careful that what you are paying you do actually owe. If not sure, or it would cause you stress financially then go and seek advice from the Citizen's Advice Bureau first. They may put you onto Step Change - although their advice is excellent it is not always the route to follow completely, but is nice to know someone is there to give you information. CAB is the way to go.

Thanks for reading.


I just got a call from MH chasing my bro in law, he is up to his neck in debt. I hope they dont pester me with calls its nothing to do with me, he's n

Apr 18, 2014 by Jon

I just got a call from MH chasing my bro in law, he is up to his neck in debt. I hope they dont pester me with calls its nothing to do with me, he's never lived here.


I have been receiving phonecalls at stupid o clock from this company .they are leaving messages over and over for someone by the name of which is not

Apr 17, 2014 by miss s

I have been receiving phonecalls at stupid o clock from this company .they are leaving messages over and over for someone by the name of which is not mine..they have the details wrong..I have emailed them to stop calling me. As im not who they are looking for.absolute pain getting..they are persistent and very annoying.I think I'll take the persons advice below and block the number.so getting on my nerves .


I've been contacted by MH after having many calls from Lending Stream who have been asking for a completely different person to me. I assume somebody

Apr 16, 2014 by Craig

I've been contacted by MH after having many calls from Lending Stream who have been asking for a completely different person to me. I assume somebody has just used my number, and thankfully I can block numbers on my iPhone, but I would recommend going to Ofcom or somebody similar if you feel harassed.


Blow a whistle - hard - down your phone's mouthpiece. This is a tactic I find discourages spam calling quite effectively, assuming there's a person at

Apr 11, 2014 by Mike B

Blow a whistle - hard - down your phone's mouthpiece. This is a tactic I find discourages spam calling quite effectively, assuming there's a person at t'other end.


MacKenzie Hall have been bothering me on and off now for what seems like forever. Private, withheld or unknown numbers but lately with varying numbers

Apr 11, 2014 by Mackenzie Hall must die horribly with pins in their eyes.

MacKenzie Hall have been bothering me on and off now for what seems like forever. Private, withheld or unknown numbers but lately with varying numbers with different dialing codes. More often than not they'll leave an automated voicemail something along the lines of "manuscript now" or "barbarabow" whatever....
I'm getting sick of it, I don't owe anybody anything. There should be a law against what they're up to. Scum!!!


Hi I seem to be one of MACKENZIE HALL.s newest victim they are ringing or texting and just lately I'm getting unknown callers on my mobile day and nig

Apr 02, 2014 by caz

Hi I seem to be one of MACKENZIE HALL.s newest victim they are ringing or texting and just lately I'm getting unknown callers on my mobile day and night I've answered once and no one on the other end, that is not very nice it can make a person worried or suspicious who's calling, well as I don't owe a bean to a living sole past or present then they either have got the wrong person and as they keep refering to me as Sidney H and I'M a female then they are definitely on the wrong trail but I choose not to reply or ring them back as I will just set myself up. Having read forums about this company ethics anyone getting any form of correspondence from these people and don't have any debt then best policy don't reply ring or text back. Because if they carry on sending me voicemail texts or ringing I shall inform the police.


I answered once when they called and when they said confirm your name, address etc. I told them that I wouldn't confirm anything, until they tell me w

Mar 29, 2014 by Karl

I answered once when they called and when they said confirm your name, address etc. I told them that I wouldn't confirm anything, until they tell me what it was regarding but they won't. I'm not giving my details out to nobody, they could be anyone. The guy hung up in the end...... I win


I have just started getting calls and messages from these and they call evenings and weekends. Already blocked atleast 6 different numbers for them bu

Mar 29, 2014 by Karl

I have just started getting calls and messages from these and they call evenings and weekends. Already blocked atleast 6 different numbers for them but no doubt, they'll use yet another number. They're a pain in the neck.
As for the article .... very helpful indeed, thanks.


Update- I ignored every attempt to contact me. They went away. Not heard from them for three months. As I said, NEVER EVER engage with one of these

Mar 25, 2014 by me

Update- I ignored every attempt to contact me. They went away. Not heard from them for three months. As I said, NEVER EVER engage with one of these parasites.


I made the mistake of answering, they are nasty little people who threaten you in every way, with your work and personal numbers and all the letters
Feb 03, 2014 by Hp

I made the mistake of answering, they are nasty little people who threaten you in every way, with your work and personal numbers and all the letters


D'oh! I thought the star rating was for the article! McKenzie Hall definitely would have a minus quantity if that option were available.

Jan 09, 2014 by me

D'oh! I thought the star rating was for the article! McKenzie Hall definitely would have a minus quantity if that option were available.

Response: I can edit that for you. Thanks for the great comment earlier!


Look out for any 01563 numbers, if you don\'t know anyone from Kilmarnock then don\'t answer, or, answer but close immediately. Annoying but they wil

Jan 09, 2014 by me

Look out for any 01563 numbers, if you don\'t know anyone from Kilmarnock then don\'t answer, or, answer but close immediately. Annoying but they will go away. Golden rule NEVER EVER talk or write to a debt collector. As soon as you respond in any way it encourages them. Usually they go through a set letter chain, after which they give it up as a bad job or assume that the address or phone number is not valid. They NEVER issue court proceedings unless they are sure that they have established contact; and even then it is rare because as the author of the article states, most of the time they have no actual evidence; just a list of names addresses and amounts.


Incompetent idiots. They send messages to my business telephone number,which I have had since 1994, chasing somebody who I have never heard of. They h

Dec 31, 2013 by Stephen Parker

Incompetent idiots. They send messages to my business telephone number,which I have had since 1994, chasing somebody who I have never heard of. They have promised to remove my number from their lists, but never do. Apparently they are operating on behalf of a business called lending stream who will not reply to emails.I am considering sending them a bill for my wasted time.


They phone my Phone daily, they will not stop, its harassment, they use local numbers in your area as well, to make it look like it\'s someone local c

Nov 21, 2013 by Steve

They phone my Phone daily, they will not stop, its harassment, they use local numbers in your area as well, to make it look like it\'s someone local calling you.


Wish I could give them no stars. They randomly call my work number every week or so asking for a named person who's name I won't divulge, but suffice

Nov 15, 2013 by Michael Robson

Wish I could give them no stars. They randomly call my work number every week or so asking for a named person who's name I won't divulge, but suffice to say I am not that person nor has that person been associated with my business number for at least 2-3 years. They seem to ignore every email and call I have made to them asking them to desist their pointless automated calling. I am now planning on putting this to the usual bodies OFCOM, OFT and ICO.


Net Consumers , USA 1.5 5.0 144 144 Constant harassment! Calls 8-10 times a day!! won't put anything in writing!! How do we stop this???